Minnesota!
Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008 at 10:55 p.m.
Dear TB,

Hi love... It's been a long time since I was last here... and now I'm back with more good news. =) I got an interview invite from University of Minnesota! I'm super excited.... the letter stated that there were 1,153 applicants this cycle and they have chosen to interview 230 applicants to fill a class of 90 seats... I can't really quite believe that I'm one of those 230 applicants. It's kind of crazy!

My interview for Kansas State is next Saturday. I got a rejection letter from UPenn and I'm still waiting to hear from Davis, Western, Iowa, Michigan and Colorado. Colorado doesn't interview out of state applicants, so I'll just get a decision letter from them. I'm expecting a rejection letter from Iowa because I'm on a forum called The Student Doctor Network where some of the applicants for vet school this cycle are all chatting about what is going on... seems like a lot of them have been offered interviews already and I've heard zip! I may or may not get a interview for Michigan, which would be my last out of state interview to consider if I do receive one. Which will be a relief money wise.. because I can't afford to fly out anywhere else really! My parents helped me pay for Kansas... and Mike is going to help me pay for Minnesota... he's actually coming with me to the Minnesota interview because he wants to check out the city life there... see what it's like... =)

Everything is happening so fast now... and it looks like my dream of becoming a veterinarian really MIGHT happen.... I can't believe I have two interviews... it's the best news I could have asked for at this moment... now I just hope I get accepted! =)

I've been so sick the last few days... I had the worst cough ever! Yesterday I bought some Mucinex because I couldn't get rid of the phlegm in my throat... I was coughing and coughing and it would just get stuck in my throat and I wouldn't be able to breathe.. it was an awful feeling... The Mucinex definitely loosened the phlegm! Yesterday I coughed so hard that I vomited. I didn't even know that was possible...!! I happened to be sitting in my car at the time and I got lucky with quick reflexes and threw up outside my car... and thankfully not my lap!! All to the amazement of Mike sitting next to me!

I left work early today because I just felt awful... I still feel pretty gross... my nose is just all snotty and gross. I'm gross! Phil told me today, "next time, just call in sick!"... haha... I think I might have gotten him sick... =/

I have so many things I want/need to do...

1. Get a dress shirt for my suit for interviews!
2. Get closed toed black shoes.
3. Research schools I have interviews for
4. Research school programs..... differences between clinical experiences and such...
5. Review interview questions.. esp. behavioral type questions! Type out... think about.....
6. SAVE $$$$!! Get better... get out of this sick stage....
7. Meet up with Caroline, Liz, Dipali and Katelyn.... Katelyn is 4 months pregnant now!! I can't believe it... craziness!

Everything is happening... so fast.. and so wonderfully... I'm so happy.... even through my snotty nose and phlegme-d up throat... =)

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007