Rambles and Kansas!
Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008 at 10:03 p.m.
Hi love...

How are you? I'm doing.. better. I mean, I've always been "doing good". But tonight, I'm doing better than just that simple phrase. I realized I think and ponder so much more when I am alone. Especially in the car with my favorite music.

I'm on this online forum called Student Doctor Network. There was a thread where they took a poll on what kinds of things pre-vet students have done in their past.. things like getting so drunk you vomited, smoking weed, heroin, driving drunk, etcetera etcetera. So that started this whole debate... of what people should or should not do... I think people forget that pre-vet students and veterinarians are people just like everyone else. I forget sometimes too. Before I started working at an animal hospital, all kinds of doctors in general used to scare me. The fact that they worked hard enough to get into med/vet school and go through the program to become a doctor or vet formulated a mixture of fear and respect in me for them. Because of that, I would often forget that they are people who also do things that other people would do... which is really just crazy talk!

Anyway... so there were a lot of comments about that particular poll... and it was just funny to me what some people would say.. things like: "I can't believe a person going into a professional medical field would do something like that." or, "I've never had a drop of alcohol or smoked anything and I'm a very happy person... doing things like that is just a waste of time."

Especially on that last comment.. Isn't that entire sentence just a contradiction? How can you say it's a waste of time if you have never experienced it? How can you judge, if you have never done? To me.. you just can't. Of course, there's nothing wrong with being happy with the way you are. No one is asking you to change. But if you haven't tried something... don't judge someone else who is doing it, because in all honesty, you don't really know. No matter what you compare it to or relate it to... it doesn't matter.. you can't really know.

People may argue that this concept does not work for all kinds of experiences.. such as rapists, serial killers, etcetera. People in general would agree that these people need to be judged and punished. Now that, I have no problem with. But I still stand by my choice in thought.. that you can't really know what the emotional and mental thought process is for even rapists and serial killers. Theoretically, even if you killed someone... it's not going to be the same kind of experience as another killers. You just can't understand what they think or feel. I definitely believe that people who harm others should be punished. But just because I believe that doesn't mean that I can ever understand those people. Still, there's nothing wrong with having an opinion either.. and that was mine.

In other news... I got into Kansas State University!!!!! I just found out this past Monday. My first vet school acceptance... I'm very happy. =) I interviewed at Western on Monday as well... I think it went OKAY.. I honestly have no idea how I did. And I'm going to my Minnesota interview at the end of this month.... It will be really awesome if I can get into Minnesota... =)

I'm going to Mammoth for the weekend.. going snowboarding! I'm so lucky because Rene let me borrow her board, bindings and season pass! And we are staying at Ryan's condo... so we really are just going to be paying for food, gas and cleaning costs. I'm getting a lot better at snowboarding too.. I can FINALLY carve... it took me so long to get the nerve to do it...

All right love.. that's it for right now.. work at 6:30 am tomorrow..

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007