The Vacuum Incident
August 01, 2003 at 1:24 a.m.
deaR tobey,

hello... SO PISSED! so.. me and katelying were closing up at work today and i vacuumed for her b/c we were running late and stuff.. after i'm done vacuuming (about 2 minutes till closing), out of no where, this older lady says to me "that's a liability you know.. someone could trip over that! esp. children!" i just ignored her b/c we were about to close and what could i have said to her anyhow? and besides that, i started getting fumed up inside and didnt want to say anything i was going to regret later on. so i thought it wise to keep my trap shut. then, her daughter (about mid 30s i guess), comes up to me, wagging her damn finger in my face and tells me that i'm rude and that we shouldn't vacuum until the mall is closed! PSSSh. i couldn't believe it. i was SO PISSED! i wanted to break her fucking finger. how the FUCK am I RUDE for fucking DOING MY JOB?! of course, i could not say that to her, so i told her as calmly as possible that we always start closing 15 minutes prior to 9 on weekdays. and i mean, for gods sake. in all my years at sanrio, never has anyone complained about the way that we close. one customer did ask me a year ago to not vacuum until her and her kid left, but she asked very nicely and i was more than happy to do it for the frightened kid. what REALLY kills me is that they tell me all this AFTER i've vacuumed. WHAT THE FUCK AM I GOING TO DO ABOUT IT AFTER I'VE ALREADY DONE THE ORDEAL?! CMON now.. stupid idiots! why didnt they ask me to stop while i was vacuuming? WHY AFTER?!!! it's not like i can fucking stop, cause i already have!! oh, also.. she proclaimed that i "chased" her and her children around with the vacuum. CHRIST. i wasn't even aware of their goddamn presence until she spoke up. and then she says.. "i had to watch my children!" as if she shouldnt have the need to watch them. i was REALLY FUMED. do i look like some kind of SITTER?! should I be the one watching your children making sure they aren't destroying the store?! aren't the parents SUPPOSED to be watching their kids?! i swear, people think they can just dump their kids off at sanrio and shop away while their precious little angels put the store to ruins. MOTHER FREAKERS! and however much i insisted that i wasn't "chasing" after them, NOPE! they didn't believe me. and what the fuck man.. why are they fucking complaining to me? what the hell am I, a lowly employee going to do about it?! yeah, i am pretty irked... i just can't believe people like this exist in the world. it just boggles my mind. you know dantes circle of hell? well, i'm going to make my own god damn circle.. FOR IDIOTS.

~karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007