Respect
June 26, 2004 at 2:43 a.m.
Dear Tobey,

How can I explain in words, just how irritated I am right now?

People can be sexist without being direct about it. People can be sexist without realizing what they are saying/doing. People can be sexist and think that they aren't being sexist at all. I don't think these people understand b/c well, quite simply, they aren't females.

I don't think I'm a feminist. I think I'm fair, and I don't understand what it is with NOT having a dick (sorry to be so blunt) that makes females so utterly inferior to males.

Of course, it doesn't boil down that simple to most guys. They think that girls are over sensitive, over analyze, over the top everything. And you know what? I give them that, a lot of girls, I agree, are too over the top. But I also have to say I know some guys that go way over the top with things as well. And of course most guys think that women DO get treated fairly nower days. Even though this may be mostly true, sometimes there is still this unsaid assumption that puts males above females for some people.

I don't enjoy bickering about this kind of nonsense. All I ask is that I get some respect, and not be asked to hold down my opinion. Dang it! What do I have to do to gain respect? Why is it that when it comes to most guys, women have to EARN respect whereas men simply ACCEPT respect (in general, NOT ALWAYS).

Actually, respect is a funny thing. It can also become very individualized depending on what you look like, what you're wearing, confidence level, status, etctera, etctera.. NOT always on the basis of only gender. I try really hard, but I cannot STAND people being rude to me. If there is one thing I absolutely despise, it's most certainly this.

Why do people treat each other like crap sometimes and why are we all so disrespectful to each other (males and females alike in this instance)? They might think that "YES--everyone is different and we all are unique with our own goods and bads.." And even though people in general may have this concept grasped down, there is still this TEENY, TINY part of them that says.. "Whew! But boy, am I glad I'm not like that". This little part of them still clings to the idea that they are somehow better than other people, even while trying to accept others.

I'm just mad because this respect I speak of seems like a imaginary made up fairy tale that doesn't exist. Should I have to apologize for being myself?

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007