the Curious Incident..
September 20, 2004 at 10:03 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hi you! How goes it? We had our first o-chem test today and it was not bad at all. Now I just gotta start writing my essay and study for physics quiz on Wed. fun! >_< I'm glad our first test is over though, and I kind of got an idea of what kind of test giver our teacher is. If I was a first time o-chem student, I would despise his teaching skills; however, since this is my second time around, the words that come out of his mouth make sense to me and I like him for that!

I'm reading a terrific book called the Curious Incident Of the dog in the night-time by Mark Haddon. I'll just type you a sample of a few pages I thought were funny.

" 29.

I find people confusing.

This is for two main reasons.

The first main reason is that people do a lot of talking without using any words. Siobhan says that if you raise one eye brow it can mean lots of different things. I can mean "I want to do sex with you" and it can also mean "I think that what you just said was very stupid."

Siobhan also says that if you close your mouth and breathe out loudly through your nose, it can mean that you are relaxed or that you are bored, or that you are angry, and it all depends on how much air comes out of your nose and how fast and what shape your mouth is when you do it and how you are sitting and what you said just before and hundreds of other things which are too complicated to work out in a few seconds.

The second main reason is that people often talk using metaphors. These are examples of metaphors

I laughed my socks off.

He was the apple of her eye.

They had a skeleton in the cupboard.

We had a real pig of a day.

The dog was stone dead.

The word metaphor means carrying something from one place to another, and it comes from the Greek words META (which means from one place to another) and OEPETV (which means to carry), and it is when you describe something by using a word for something that it isn't. This means that the word metaphor is a metaphor.

I think it should be called a lie because a pig is not like a day and people do not have skeletons in their cupboards. And when I try to make a picture of the phrase in my head it just confuses me because imagining an apple in someone's eye doesn't have anything to do with liking someone a lot and it makes you forget what the person was talking about."

There's more but I won't type out the whole book. =D Anyways, I think it's refreshing to read. It sort of reminds me of The Little Prince but a little more.. grown up. Actually, I take that back. I don't think the book itself reminds me of my favorite book, I think the character in the story reminds me of the prince. Very straight-forward; practically out of this world.

I am so stinking tired right now. I have a full day of work tomorrow then tutoring Alex. My legs still hurt from the 3 mile walk I did with my co-workers for heart disease. I'm still 6 pounds heavier from summer and Tom hasn't left yet. DAHHH!

I like the Garden State soundtrack better than the movie.

I can't keep awake anymore. 99 Tobes. Actually, I'm off to have conversation with the other you because I feel a bit frustrated. Ciao.

<3 Karen

"For a second of your life, tell me that it's true
Waiting for a sign
It's all I want of you
Your heart hides a secret, a promise of what is
Something more than this

Just a second of your time
Any one will do
A taste of any other is all I want from you
Offer me the world and how can I resist?
Something more than this

Make believe in magic
Make believe in dreams
Make believe impossible
Nothings as it seems
See, touch, taste, smell, hear
But never know if it's real

For a second of your life
Tell me if it's true
Anywhere we are, it's all I want of you
Your lips lies a secret
Promise of a kiss
Of something more than this

Just a second of your time
Any one will do
To know any other is all I want from you
Giving me the world, now I can't resist
Something more than this

Make believe in magic
Make believe in dreams
Make believe impossible
Nothings as it seems
Never really understand what anything means

Another second of my life
Not knowing if it's true
Make believe in nothing, is all I want of you
Whisper me a secret
Whisper me there is always something other
Something more than this"

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007