Diet, Spay/Neuter
Sunday, Mar. 20, 2005 at 5:52 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

I recieved the bad news today from KB. I'm starting my diet tomorrow!! Shiza. We are actually going to go on a diet together because we know that one of the primary reasons we both gained so much weight is because all we did together was eat, eat, eat. That's what happens when you get into a relationship. You gain weight. It's undeniable! Guess what my diet consists of? I'm supposed to go to the gym 6 times a week. That's like.... freaking, everyday! Sundays are my off days where I can eat anything I want and not go to the gym. Apparently this diet has worked for KB in the past. www.bodyforlife.com is where you can go if you want to diet with us! hehe. Now, mind you, I've never been on a diet before. I've never gone to the gym 6 times a week. This has been UNpossible for me. KB is trying the method of, "I know you won't do it" to try and encourage me to do it. Quite frankly, I have no idea how I am going to do this. I have no problems with eating 6 times a day (yay!), even if they are in smaller portions, but this gym thing is going to be hard on me for sure. I feel like the "Before" picture in an exercise commerical. [sigh]. Wish me luck.

So, I finally got Cory's citronella spray bark collar at Petsmart. He absolutley hates it. I think it works? I'm not quite sure. I went to get groceries a few minutes ago and when I came back, there was no barking to be heard. But, Chris and his gf did come home before me, so I don't know if they heard barking or not.. Darren came with me to Petsmart and we saw the cutest puppies ever! I felt so bad when he told me that all those dogs were going to be put down in a week. I understand, but at the same time, I totally DON'T understand. When I volunteered at the Mission Viejo Animal Shelter, I was relieved to discover it was a no-kill shelter. I know different cities get overcrowded with different kinds of animals, and for some, it just becomes too much. They are too short handed on workers and equipment. When I'm fully independent from my parents, all I'm going to own is shelter dogs. I don't care if it's just a small knick off the problem. That small knick is a living, breathing life that does not come with an assigned value. Overcrowding and overpopulation is such a big problem. People, PLEASE! Do not breed your pets just because you want to,

a) experience the miracle of life

or

b) see cute little puppies

or

c) let your pooch experience being a parent

Let me just say that is bullshit. There is no reason good enough in my opinion for people to be breeding their own dogs. Unless you are doing it to sell the puppies to put food on the table, NO. There is no excuse. Ignorance isn't a factor either. Spay and neuter your animals!

KB came over for a little bit just to hang out. He was supposed to start his essays and rest up. Unfortunately, the latter half of that consumed most of his time here. He slept here from 6 - 9! Consequently, I slept from 7:30 - 9. I woke up thinking... is it really 9 pm?! HOLY SHIZA! When I woke up KB, he said the exact same thing. Ended up kicking him out of the house so he could make his way back to L.A. and get ready for an early day of school tomorrow.

Speaking of school, I start in a week and I am SO excited. I'm taking 4 classes, only 1 with a lab. I'm actually pretty used to taking at least 2 lab classes, so I'm happy with just one! My schedule looks like so:

Mon/Wed
Vertebrate Zoology Lecture 11 - 11:50
Evolution 2- 3:50

Tue/Thur
Cell and Molecular Bio 8 - 9:50
Scientific Communication 10 - 10:50 (this class on Tuesdays only)
Vertebrate Zoology Lab 1 - 3:50

Fri
Vertebrate Zoology Lecture 11 - 11:50

I have some large gaps in time on some days.. like, Mon/Wed, and on Thursdays I'll have a gap from 9:50 to 1! I will probably be studying my butt off during those times at school.. I'll probably come home on Thursdays though, because that gap is much too much. I have Vertebrate Zoo with Dr. Hoyt, and it's a teacher that Steve had when he was an undergrad there! Dr. Hoyt told me that Steve was one of his favorites, which is not surprising at all. We learned so much about vertebrate zoology in Steve's class, he said that it should mostly be review for me. I'm glad he worked us so hard because I would have never learned how to study if not for him. Biology at Saddleback was so much fun. The science department at Saddleback (maybe minus organic chemistry), is freaking kick ass in my opinion.

Okay. Long enough entry eh? I was going to add pictures but I'll do it next time. I'm off to cook some potatoes!! See you later love.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007