Tuesdays with Morrie
Tuesday, Mar. 29, 2005 at 10:14 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hi sweetness. How goes everything! I was so excited to go to school, but now I am starting to remember what it was about school I didn't like. I forgot that I have to study! >_< hehe. Okay, I didn't exactly, forget. I just momentarily lost my train of thought on studious activities. It is exciting to go to a new (and HUGE) campus. I met the rest of my professors today and I really like Dr. Silverman and they way he lectures. He's very well informed on many different subjects, not just biology, which makes class interesting! For ZOO 138, we have grad students teaching us the lab section. Seems like they know their stuff, so I'm not worried. Also saw Erin on campus during university hour so I had lunch with her. =)

This is a story from Tuesdays with Morrie that I liked.

The story is about a little wave, bobbing along in the ocean, having a grand old time. He's enjoying the wind and the fresh air - until he notices the other waves in front of him, crashing against the shore.

"My God, this is terrible," the wave says. "Look what's going to happen to me!"

Then along comes another wave. It sees the first wave, looking grim, and it says to him, "Why do you look so sad?"

The first wave says, "You don't understand! We're all going to crash! All of us waves are going to be nothing. Isn't it terrible?"

The second wave says, "No, you don't understand. You're not a wave, you're part of the ocean."

This book is extremely sensitive and touching. Sometimes, so much so that I find myself in disbelief. There are so many good concepts placed within these chapters about life. I think you have to be accepting to really feel this book. You really don't read this book with a closed heart, which was my mistake at first.

Forgive yourself. Then forgive others.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007