01-62 / short story
Thursday, Sept. 15, 2005 at 12:55 a.m.
Dear Tobey,

I thought I'd do something a little more fun and easygoing. 101 things about me.

01. I was born in Korea.
02. Currently I am 22 years of age.
03. My favorite type of music at this point and time is indie rock, although I do enjoy a variety of other types of music.
04. I play tennis more often than any other sport.
05. I have 2 younger sisters and I am the oldest (Sarah, Suey, and mua).
06. I own and love an orange mutt named Cory Pie.
07. I like to drink.
08. When I go out to a bar/club, I always start out with a purple hooter shot.
09. I once had 2 patron shots and shortly thereafter ended up vomiting on my hands.
10. I used to play the piano fairly well.
11. English was my favorite subject in high school.
12. Zoology is my study of choice at Cal Poly Pomona.
13. My favorite book is The Little Prince.
14. I have a boyfriend named Michael Ko and I think he's an oober dork!
15. The last book I read was The Alchemist.
16. I drive a maroon Honda Accord.
17. I treat that car like shit. And really regret it.
18. I'm currently listening to Death Cab For Cutie's Transatlanticism. Which I think is a very good album. Go buy it!
19. I believe in God.
20. But I am not religious. Ergo, I do not attend church on a regular basis.
21. I try to lie as little as humanly possible.
22. I believe in true love. Not meaning a one true love. But just, true love. Who knows if everyone finds it, but hopefully they do.
23. I don't believe in fate. I believe in your own choices.
24. I have an eco-globe with one brine shrimp called Briney.
25. I live with 3 boys who are all chill and relaxed.
26. I chew the skin on my fingers and I can't really seem to stop.
27. I have road rage.
28. I once attempted to be a vegeterian and failed.
29. I realize I am starting to like coffee.
23. My favorite color is green because when I see it I see the beauty that is nature.
24. I think I'm addicted to Coke (the drink).
25. I loveee smelling the pads of a dog's feet. I think they smell like frito chips. Amazing!
26. I enjoy the little things in life.
27. Therefore I am easily amused.
28. I wish I can play the guitar one day.
29. I pick my nose and wipe it on the side of my car seat.
30. My boyfriend does it too! Ha!
31. I worry easily.
32. I'm paranoid.
33. I'm scared of my own shadow.
34. I don't believe in luck.
35. I'm don't know how I'm ever going to get to 101.
36. I look forward to the future.
37. I'm an optimist.
38. I believe in the better half of people. I think in general, if you are willing to overlook a few apologies, and can be friendly, people are generally quite nice back to you.
39. I don't let guys buy me drinks at bars/clubs because I feel that I owe them something afterwards.
40. I'm okay with dancing with strangers so long as they don't touch. I like to dance, not try to get into someone's pants. I'd expect the same out of a dance partner who is a complete stranger or else the dance is over!
41. I'm not sure what my goals in school exactly are.
42. I've never cheated on any of my boyfriends.
43. I haven't been cheated on technically. However, I did have one boyfriend that left me for someone else.
44. I hurt immensely when a relationship ends.
45. I've never ended a relationship myself.
46. I can't believe I'm only on number 46.
47. I love food with a passion. So much so that sometimes when I offer someone else food, I am relieved when they decline. So much so that when I share french fries with my boyfriend, I try to eat as much as I can without causing too much attention so that I can sneak as many in as I can on the sly. How sad!
48. I'm proud of the fact that I can make mashed potatoes from scratch.
49. My dog is a hog on the bed. He sleeps like the letter F.
50. I don't know if I've ever been in love before.
51. It's 1:42 am right now.
52. It's 1:43 am now.
53. My hands are always dry. If I don't lotion up, I feel greatly agitated.
54. My favorite song right now is Soul Meets Body by Death Cab For Cutie.
55. I used to live in Louisiana, Washington, and Oregon.
56. I am of average height, a little over average weight, average everything really. But I don't think there's anything wrong with being average. I feel no need to be exceptional in any physical aspect.
57. I study hard.
58. I have high expectations from myself.
59. I want to get straight A's next quarter.
60. I think almost all dogs should be spayed or neutered. This should be a LAW.
61. I'm plan on adopting at least one child someday.
62. I think I'm going to sleep now. But I'll leave you with a story I found. Maybe I'll finish 63 - 101 another night.


One evening an old Cherokee told his grandson about a battle that goes on inside people. He said, "My son, the battle is between 2 wolves.

One is Evil. It is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, jealousy, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.

The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, acceptance, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion and faith."

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, "Which wolf wins?"

The old Cherokee simply replied, "The one you feed."

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007