2046
Sunday, Sept. 11, 2005 at 10:56 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hey love. Today I finally got to watch the movie 2046. Two, zero, four, six. Twenty fortysix? Yo no se. Anyhow, it was an interesting film. It's follows the complex love line of a chinese man who has lost love. During this show of his relationships, he writes a science fiction story called 2046 where apparently, you are able to find the memories that are lost. What I couldn't follow was the time line. Which parts came and went, which was past, present and future. To some degree I knew, but not clearly. I got a little mixed up. I also got mixed up with the story he wrote that was played out during the movie. I knew that he was one of the characters, but I didn't know which one and how it was incorporated exactly with the rest of the movie. The rest of it is more basic. It's a sad love story with lots of loss involved. From both parties. From what the narrator said, the movie's main points were: the importance in timing of love, and the equal importance of not substituting another body in love. From those central points, the movie was beautifully made, showing the consequences of when timing is off. When one is ready and the other is not. Or when neither is ready and friendship is steadily able to evolve. It also emphasizes the suffering one can cause on another when trying to substitute another person for the one they loved. That's not to say that once you lost the person you love that you never love again, but as you can see, that's where timing comes into play. Where you have to be ready to love again willingly and to be able to do it with a different person and to realize that with 110% certainty for love to become mutual. This is clearly not substitution (which would bring great suffering and pain), but acceptance of loss and the willingness to try again via another body knowingly. Unfortunately, I don't think that ever happened again for the main character, but then again, I don't think that was the point.

Anyways, I didn't follow the movie all the way through, and I'm still confused on some details, but I still think it was a good movie. The sadness, the feeling of loss, the happiness, it felt all real. The cast did a nice job creating that feeling throughout the movie. Wow, they can cry as if real thought and feeling were truly breaking their hearts. I couldn't ever fake cry. I'd just burst into laughter.

I've just been working everyday since I've been off from school, which has been good and bad. It's been bad on my feet since I'm always wearing my little heels now. And we're going to Tahoe this weekend!! Me, Suey, Michael, Johnny, Henry and Jimmy. I'm quite excited. I need to do a little more planning for this trip however. Maybe we could do this on our trip.

I miss my beautiful Emily.

Good night sweetheart!

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007