What's the Point?
2002-05-21 at 11:42 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Today my sister and I went to go rent a movie and she insisted that I watch Head Over Heels. Now mind you! It's a Freddie Prince Jr. movie. And I'm not a big fan. BUT. This movie made me sad. I mean, even when I saw spiderman.. it made me feel lonely. But it's like.. these guys in these movies.. they are all the same..! The way they act.. and it's as if they are this PERFECT dream guy who has the most remarkable personality.. and its SO utterly depressing to see such a thing... because in reality, there's no guy who could ever possibly truly be that way. It's almost a tease. And it some ways I think that maybe seeing these kind of male roles all your life make you expect certain things from guys.. or it makes you want certain things from guys. Like the way they act or how much you want them to sacrafice. I think love is about negociating and sacraficing from both parties.

I mean, I still believe in what I believe in about love.. How it's forever and ever and accepting until the end on time, yadda yadda yadda.. people may think I'm wrong, or not agree with me.. but how can you put love in such a low regard? Isn't that what love is? Special? Should it not be forever and ever until the world ends? Or else then.. what IS love? Something so meaningless that it can be passed around to many wide and far and be changed around as much as you please? Is that love? That's what love is?! Hell, I won't have any of that nonsense.

BOYS.. they don't really WANT to be in love. it's pretty sad really.. Girls, as soon as they hit puberty want to fall in love right away. they want to find Mr. Prince Charming to save them from the loneliness they feel. Of course, Mr. Prince Charming over there may like the girl.. but he may or may not ever fall in love with her. I mean, how can you know and realize what love is at such young age? I suppose this is a human flaw, and it's experimentation. Maybe Mr. Prince Charming DOES in fact want to fall in love. I mean, look at everything it brings: happiness, stablity, love, life.. right? Wrong. Sooner or later Mr. Prince Charming realizes that love isn't what he really wanted. He doesn't really want commitment does he? And I suppose its ALL RIGHT for all guys to just change their minds like that right? So, what was all that about "love" eh? Didn't you profess you loved that girl? Did you not promise to stay by her side forever and ever until the world ends.. Ah-- it's a tragic ending I know all too well.

I still wouldnt really say it's ALL the guys fault. And indefinitley, it's not the girls.. then whose fault is it? I suppose in the end. it's both. I mean.. it was bound to happen. To end this way. It's just that the poor girl was looking for love. Looking for love so badly she may have even more than hinted a few times she longed for this love. Of course, the boy only wants to make her happy.. and she is only oh so willing to accept those three special words, and he is more than happy to give it to her knowing what he will in turn receive. So basically.. the girl is asking for love, and the boy knows all the sexual attachments that comes with the word love.. so he's only more than happy to say "I love you". and with his hormones rising and his mind lowering.. and the girl so wanting for the love. It's too easy! So who's to say who's fault it is. Me being a female. I am ready to say it is all the guys fault. Believe me, I know it hurts. But I suppose after you heal (if you heal), you come to realize certain things about guys.. stuff you have to be aware of about them that they never taught you in school or in the home. Stuff that you just gotta learn the hard way. and I guess to me, that lesson is.. it's very rare to find love at such a tender age. All you'll find is hurt and misery. So what is the point of trying to find a boyfriend and fall in love? When he'll probably just dump you in a few months, years... whatever. I guess my whole idea is that you should only be friends with boys. Don't let those emotions overtake the mind! Be smart, and don't give your heart to just any boy.. Girls.. you'll just have to wait until he becomes a man. And most guys dont reach that sort of maturity until they have done all the things that they have wanted to do. Well past age 30 it seems like! [gag] such a lovely thing to know and realize isn't it? :/

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007