Pop Music
2002-05-22 at 9:47 p.m.
Hey Tobes!

Something sorta ticked me off today. I was in a forum on cdnow.com and these ppl were talking about the band Saves the Day. Then this retard girl went on to talk about how she doesn't think they are good anymore because they are popular. And also added a strange comment about how girls like punk rock music just because of Blink 182. WHAT? That, to me, doesnt make any sense. Yeah those girls probably got into punk rock music because of Blink 182, or whatever intro band, so they decided to try listening to some other bands. Is that so... horrible?

I don't really think that a band turns to crap just because they have gained more fame. It's true that many bands do go bad with popularity, but that's not ALWAYS the case, and that's not what people should always jump to. I mean, people probably just start liking their music because they sound good. I know if I hear a great band.. I let my friends know about it. Isn't that how music becomes popular through peers? I wouldn't have ever known Saves the Day, or whatever # of bands I know now if it weren't for the words from a friend. I'm not saying this girl was completley wrong. I just think it's completley wrong to say that a band ALWAYS turns bad if they become popular.

I also had this feeling that the girl didn't like Blink 182 probably just because they were popular. Oy, that really bothers me. Why should you hate something just because it is popular or unpopular? I just hate it when people hate something just because everyone else loves it. I also hate it when people love certain things just because everyone else hates it. And visa versa. FORGET ALL THAT! If YOU like the band, then you like them. What does it matter what other people think or don't think? Just be real.

I just think people should stay true to themselves and just make sure that if they like something or hate something.. that they have reasons for feeling either way.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007