If it's Not Love, Then What is it I Feel?
July 31, 2002 at 10:32 p.m.
If it's Not Love, Then What is it I feel? by: Francesco Petrarco

"If it's not love, then what is it i feel?
But if it's love, by God, what is this thing?
If good, why then the bitter moral sting?
If bad, then why is every torment sweet?
If I burn willingly, why weep and grieve?
And if against my will, what good lamenting?
O living death, O pleasurable harm,
How can you rule me if I not consent?
And if I do consent, it's wrong to grieve.
Caught in contrasting winds in a frail boat,
On the high seas I am without a helm.
So light of wisdom, so laden of error, that I myself do not know what I want,
And shiver in midsummer, burn in winter."

My response to Francesco

*Love can never look into the eyes of perfection,
Nor can any other living creature.
Love can never be pure,
It can only be a surprising drink of sweet and sour.
The only thing left to make of it now,
Is to be content, knowing the truth.
Just as we ourselves cannot deem ourselves worthy of perfection,
We cannot claim our lovers to be more than what they are.
So dear Francesco, love and love well!
Although I can assure you,
You will weep and grieve,
And there are no gaurantees of consistent joy,
True love will hold strong and last through all emotions,
It will be there until you are lying in your grave,
Show you the light in your lonely cave of darkness,
And will embrace you with the kind of happiness that only love can be the giver of.
So look up,
Be bright.
Love's only waiting for you to accept her.*

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007