When You Are Real..
April 29, 2004 at 9:24 p.m.
Hey Tobes,

I just wanted to share with you.. a favorite childhood book of mine. =D It's called 'The Velveteen Rabbit' and it's written by Margery Williams, illustrated by William Nicholson. Let's walk with the Velveteen Rabbit and his quest to be real...

"...There were other things in the stocking, nuts and oranges, and a toy engine. The boy loved him, but then Aunts and Uncles came to dinner and in all of the excitement - the Rabbit was forgotten.....The Rabbit could not claim to be a model of anything. He thought all rabbits were stuffed with sawdust like himself, and he understood that sawdust was quite out-of-date and should never be mentioned in modern circles. The only friend he had was the wise Skin Horse...."

"What is Real?" the Rabbit asked one day. "Does it mean you have things buzzing around inside of you?"

"Real isn't how you are made," said the Skin Horse, "It's a thing that happens to you. When a child loves you for a long time, not just to play with you, but really loves you, then you become Real."

"Does it hurt?" asked the Rabbit.

"Sometimes," said the Skin Horse, "When you are Real you don't mind being hurt."

The beginning and the rest of that story is so sweet, I just love this book! This may sound silly, but I relate this book to how much my life has changed in the past few months. To me, becoming Real, was me finally realizing how much God loves me. I knew he was always there, but I never acknowledged it. In fact, I even forgot about Him for many years in my life.. Then life, and the things around me, got old. New things came and went, and I even felt old, worn out, aged from the pains of this world. When I finally opened the door, and my eyes to God, I really felt like I became Real. I realize how much he did for us because of his love. Now that I know this, there is just no way I could turn away from that and NOT acknowledge Him! Before.. I had so many doubts, and questions.. lingering in my mind, refusing to unbind. Now that I see God, there are so many things about the rest of the world that I don't see.

I really like this quote about Faith. --> "If God were small enough for your minds, he wouldn't be big enough for your needs. One day, everything about God will become perfectly clear. Have Faith! God <3's you." =)

Now... Back in the days when I was a doubter.. I would probably say something along the lines of... 'Well... Christians use the idea of Faith to answer all of the questions that they CAN'T ANSWER...' I was really biased like that. Man.. I was the biggest questioner on the face of the planet! And now, I'm biased on the other side as well, but you know what? I think that once you really truly begin to know God, you realize that God is so infinite, so big, so great, that you could not comprehend His ways. Not in this lifetime anyway. For me.. it all boils down to two choices.

01. God made the world.

02. The world made itself.

People have their doubts about God right? They don't understand the how science could possibly work with God. Instead, they think "the Bible vs. Science". If people want to debate about God using the laws of this earth, then fine, I have some questions for these people as well.

First question. The 1st Law of Thermodynamics says that matter cannot be created nor destroyed. Energy is conserved. If energy is conserved and cannot be created nor destroyed, where did it come from in the first place? (God..! Doi!)

Second question. The Law of Conservation of Angular Momentum says that if a spinning object explodes, the pieces are going to spin in the same direction. Well then! If the big bang started with a singular spinning dot exploding, then shouldn�t everything be spinning in the same direction? Too bad that it's not... Venus and Uranus spin backwards. Numerous moons are spinning backwards. Several moons are even traveling backwards. And if you don't believe in the big bang theory, but believe in another secular theory of the beginnings of this earth... this law STILL is contradictory on this planet!

There are so many other things I could continue on about... but for now.. I'll leave it at that! One more final note before I leave.. My in biology class a few weeks ago.. my teacher presented us with a dilemma as we were studying bones. He told us.. males and females have the same number of bones, so if God took a rib from Adam to make Eve, why then do they have the same number of ribs today? No body could answer this. I was so disturbed in my mind, I couldn't think! Later I got home.. and sheesh!! HELLO! If any scientist believed that, they'd be supporting Lamarck's Theory of Evolution, which we all know is FALSE. Lamarck's Theory says: The characteristics that you pick up during your life, will be passed onto your newborn. For example. A lion happens to get his whole paw caught and cut off. Will his offspring bear a missing paw? NO! This was disproved years ago. And if people STILL didn't believe that, here's a little tid bit they should know...

"The periosteum (the literal meaning of this word is 'around the bone') is a membrane that covers every bone-it's the reason you can get things stuck between your teeth while gnawing on a leg of lamb, for instance. The periosteum contains cells that can manufacture new bone. Periosteum has osteoblasts, which is a bone forming cell. Particularly in young people, 'rib periosteum has a remarkable ability to regenerate bone, perhaps more so than any other bone'. Thoracic (chest) surgeons routinely remove ribs, and these often grow back, in whole or in part. A lot depends on the care with which the rib is removed; it needs to be 'peeled' out of it's periosteum to leave this membrane as intact as possible. A major reason why the rib is the ideal situation for such regeneration is that the attached intercostal muscles provide it with a good blood supply."

Interesting eh? One day, I'm going to write a whole book on all of the questions I've been collecting over the years as a non-believer and a believer and entitle it.. "The Bible and Science, NOT, The Bible Vs. Science." I believe in evolution, and I believe in the bible. THe only part of evolution I don't agree with.. is how they try to say that humans evolved from what... primates? I think not.. Well, this entry is getting a long.. so I'll save that for another time yeah? =) Good night! <3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007