Can a Girl really JUST be Best Friends with a Boy? READ ON!
May 15, 2004 at 1:23 a.m.
Tobey!

WOW. WOW WOW WOW WOW!! The David Crowder Band is AMAZING, and I had such a good time!! I just about lost my voice.. it hurts to speak. =D But that's a good thing! "That sounds very pretty, but pretty is NOT what we're going for.. what we want is LOUD!!!" haha. It was so great! His voice is SO spectacularly clear, wonderful, totally joyous. There were a LOT of people there. I even saw my old buddy Karin Rho! I actually forgot to bring my camera.. so I didn't take any pictures, but the memories will live forever in my <3. =) The best $8.00 I have ever spent in my whole life. It was so incredibily HOT in there. I was seriously drenched in my sweat. It so fun to hang out with the kids! Hanna, Steven, Helen, Johnny, and Liz! I like hanging around them because they totally accept my weirdness. Actually, I think they are all totally a strange bunch, and I love them for it! I love how Hanna and Liz are so carefree. When I'm around them, it's like.. nothing matters! As if the world around us fades, and there's nothing to be embarassed about. Steven is an interesting one, or is it, Matthew?? lol. This is the quote of the night, "Alright, pick a butt cheek! The right or the left?" or from the Urim night a few weeks ago.. "Get Karen off my back!!" haha, my sister can't get over that! =) I should also mention that I kicked Johnny's butt with boba balls at Tappy.. they just wouldn't leave him alone! I just would like to say.. Tonight is one of the best nights I've had in a while. =)

Ben's finally home for the summer! I'm glad our buddy is back, even though I know he misses San Diego like crazy. We ate at Fuddruckers today and really caught up on everything! It's so interesting how much life changes in a few mere months. I think we were both amazed. It still cracks me up, recalling our conversation. You really know when two people are very strange and have a unique friendship when while they are really fighting, they are laughing as they talk, arguing with each other! I swear we're so darn weird. I think people have a hard time digesting our friendship b/c they don't believe it. They don't believe that a boy and a girl could really JUST BE best friends. Most people think this because most people have not gone through the process of forgiving and accepting love lost (relationship wise). Because we tried out having a relationship, it made our friendship a 100 times better. When I think about the trials that I had to go through to completely get over it, I remember it being very VERY difficult. But when I think about how everything is now, I wouldn't have changed anything because I learned so much and we ended up with something most people DON'T end up with! I understand it's very difficult, but for those of you who say it can't happen/won't happen/doesn't happen.. sorry to say this, but our friendship is LIVING PROOF, it CAN happen. Best friends since high school! Of course it's a long grueling process. Of course it's painful. Of course you feel like you DON'T WANT TO. I mean, just go back and read my entries from the start of this whole diary and look at the hell I went through. Actually, it's really funny going back now and reading them because I'm so shocked that it's all I ever seemed to write about! I didn't want to do it. I just wanted to hate his guts! It's so much easier that way. But the harder the process is, the more worthwhile in the end it is when you finally accomplish it. And I did. Even though it took a long time, I DID IT! and it's like what they say..

"When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change."

It's so true! It's certainly CAN happen, but both parties have to be willing to try. The reason a lot of times it doesn't work is because one of the two, can't handle it. And you know what? THat's okay. Take some time apart, and try when you've healed.. and I promise you it can happen. But the thing is, you have to REALLY heal, which is very difficult for a lot of people to do as well.. I guess my mentality is.. "whatever doesn't kill you, only makes you stronger". I just can't wallow in self pity more than a few months. Stop feeling sorry for yourself, just get up and DO something about it! haha, now I'm getting a bit off track. The whole reason I wrote about this was to basically say.. --> We're just best friends! LITERALLY. We can both vouch for that. It just sucks when we're both so busy, and living crazy lives.. so it's definitely great when we get him back for the summers!

Alright, well I'm really beat! All that singing, screaming, jumping up and down, dancing wore me OUT, and my larynx is seriously feeling the pains of a fab concert!! haha.. 99, off to rest.. Study for calc final tomorrow!! =D

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007