Inner Makeovers
May 20, 2004 at 12:23 a.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hi darling. I can't believe... we drove to L.A. for a SOLD OUT show!!! o_O I was in such shock, I laughed for 10 minutes straight after. It's okay though, b/c Portia and I did things that we couldn't have done anywhere else except in L.A., um yeah. For instance, buying CDs at Tower Records, and eating burgers at a restraunt for another! Well.. haha. OKAY--so we can do those things in Orange County, BUT! We did get to see Brittney Murphy. She's was just as I imagined her to be! Short, cute, HAPPY, laughing! We walked right by her, and we both just stared at her as we passed by, then looked at each other, as if to question and make sure... that was Brittney Murphy! It's my first celebrity siting ever, and it was all b/c the tickets to Ari Hest was sold out. wooooooo. >_< As you can see, I'm still trying to make myself feel better about the ordeal.

I'm reading a book called 'The Perks of Being a Wallflower' right now by Stephen Chbosky. It's so far.. very interesting! And I like it a lot. It's sort of.. unsettling.. I feel terrible for the main character at times.. then again, I feel like I can relate to his thoughts SO MUCH. What caught my eye this morning was when he says that he thinks everyone is special in their own way, which is SO true, yet people out of the book find so hard to believe. People are really amazing, every person with their own talents and interests. No one person is the same, but no one can understand that! Everything they think about is in terms of themselves. It made me wonder about people, and how they refuse to see things from another point of view. I realized I've done the same before in the past. Something that I am trying very hard not to do. I'm not going to pass pre-determined judgements on people just because I think I'm right. Because, I could be totally off. Have you ever seen those tv shows where they take a supposed "horrendous" looking person and give them a makeover? It just goes to show how easy it is to make a person beautiful on the outside, anyone can be pretty/handsome on the outside, b/c everyone has their own sort of beauty. It's just that the public isn't able to see it with it's naked eye. I've noticed when you really get to know a person.. their beauty becomes apparent. You notice things, you wouldn't have noticed unless you spent a lot of time with them. but I know a lot more people who need makeovers with their insides... and it's a LOT more difficult, b/c it's something they have to choose to do for themselves. No body else can do it for them. It's horrible how people treat other people based on appearences. I've made this mistake in the past, and I really learned from it. This book makes a lot of references to other books and songs.. I want to go read them all! It's eerie what this book puts you through. It's a must read!

<3 Karen

The Smiths - Awake

"Sing me to sleep, I'm tired and I want to go to bed. Sing me to sleep, and then leave me alone. Don't try to wake me in the morning. Cause I will be gone. Don't feel bad for me. I want you to know, deep in the cell of my heart. I will feel so glad to go. Sing me to sleep. I don't want to wake up on my own anymore. Sing to me. I don't want to wake up on my own anymore. Don't feel bad for me. I want you to know. Deep in the cell of my heart, I really want to go. There is another world. There is a better world. Well, there must be... Bye bye."

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007