I Demand Equality!!
May 26, 2004 at 9:04 p.m.
Hi love,

What I really should be doing, since I got out of art early tonight... is starting my darn calculus homework!! Art was interesting today... Actually, since I just barely finished reading everything before class.. I was all pissed off right after I read it. One of the books we are reading is called 'Ways of Seeing' by Berger. He makes some good points.. but Chapter 3 really pissed the heck outta me! His main argument was that.. women appear and men act. Basically saying that women are only an image, don't really play a specific role except to gratify men's needs/wants. Just everything...! I knew this guy was a marxist, but dang.. this is just.. FOOLISH! I really liked Chapter 1... then after that.. I just got MAD! I think discussing that chapter drew a THICK line between the females and males in art class. No kidding. I was seriously steamed about it. I wanted to ask our teacher... "Do you HATE being a woman?" ................. I really struggle with the idea of men being better than women. I know it even says in Genesis, that women are below men.. and I really REALLY struggle to understand this. YEAH, maybe back in the day when men would hunt,.... etcetera. Then I could kind of understand how men could be considered a little bit "higher" than women since I mean, he brought the meat to the table basically. But HEY! Guess what boys?! It's the 20th century now and women are all over the workplace, some getting better marks in school, DOING THE SAME DANG THING THAT MEN ARE to survive in our society today. I mean, who's to say that here in the United States, that men are above women? Now I'm not trying to say that women are ABOVE men necessarily. I'm saying that it can go both ways, depending on the person! I'm not a feminist... although you may genuinely disagree with me, I think I'm more of an equalist (if there ever was dubbed such a term). YES, I agree that most men are generally physically stronger than women. BUT, I do think that women can be just as intelligent and can live up to a "man's standards" on just about anything. And besides that, although I believe both sides hold advantages, at least we don't have to deal with too much of that crazy testosterone flowing through their bodies. And I think that's to our advantage!

I hope no body is offended by this. I didn't mean for it to be offensive. I'm just tired of hearing standards for women all the time, and I'm tired of sexist guys talk about how great they think they are as MEN!! (Don't they mean.. as boys?) I know some guys.. that sure don't act like they "toughness" they boast of. This toughness I'm talking about.. is emotional strength. Not physical. The ability to stand on your own and be independent. I'm probably more of a man than some guys I know!!! Dah.. that probably didn't come out right. lol, but you know what I mean.

This weekend seems hectic! It's Suey's birthday this Saturday.. so we're going to have a BBQ at Salt Creek for her. Right after, I'm going to a BBQ with the Bio kids at Farzin's house. Sunday is the Cursive show! Monday is BBQ AGAIN at Salt Creek with old friends.. At least I get to go to the beach a lot huh!!? I wanted to go to bad all this week and I didn't get to go at all!! Well, mainly due to the fact it was FOGGY and cold all week. Hopefully it will clear up for the weekend.. or else, BBQ at the house for Suey! awww.. my little sister.. Sushi, 18-years-old and all grown up. You know.. when I was 18, I remember being so foolish. Not my sister. I'm so proud of her! That reminds me.. gotta do shopping for her birthday too... DAHHH!! At least I know what she wants.. =)

I wish I could have gone to the weenie roast this summer...! I always ALWAYS miss it, and always ALWAYS want to go to badly.... o_O a string of bad luck.. always tied up at my feet!! Well, no matter what, can't miss Dave this year. I promised myself, the next time I get the opportunity to see him.. I'm going and am going to get the best possible seats!! He's the only artist I would cough up actual bills for to see. Everything else has to be $30 or less!! hehe.

I've already read this.. but I'm onto 'Brave New World' by Aldous Huxley. You know what's a really great short read? 'Animal Farm' by Orwell!! Oh, how I loved that book.

I really can't wait to go to the zoo..!! Maybe I will bring Sarah with me this year. I haven't been that great of a sister to her.. It's been hard, due to the age difference.. I can't stand "knock knock" jokes ALL day. I'm trying to be more patient. With everything. =) Anyhow! Procrastinated on math homework for too long. Must disperse! Ciao.

<3 Karen

Song List:

Cursive/The Casualty

The Juliana Theory/If I Told You This Was Killing Me, Would You Stop?

Dishwalla/Every Little Thing

The Mars Volta/Eriatarka

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007