Grunion Run #2
June 07, 2004 at 5:01 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hey you. I'm currently at school waiting for my art class to start.. I still think it's an interesting class, but it annoys the heck out of me with all the sexist books and essays we are force fed during class. I hope the movies we're going to watch aren't like that too!

Yesterday, I REALLY got to see the Grunions. FOR REAL this time! Suey was getting upset at this little girl who sort of just.. carelessly waddled anywhere and everywhere to catch her dinner. hehe. There were SO many!! I felt so many swimming by my feet. The first time really freaked me out because it got caught between my toes and my sandal and I thought I had squished it to it's death. After a while, I learned not to move as the waves came in and just let them swim all over my feet. They were soft! And as long as they don't bite, I'm happy. =) They were gone as quickly as they had come. 30 minutes after, the whole show was over. It was SO interesting to see the whole process, even if it didn't lasy very long! The best part was watching the females bury themselves in the sand. I've never seen anything like it. Who would have thought.. Fish burying their bottoms in the sand! I hope a lot my friends got to see this spectacle at the beaches.

I also went to my sister's church picnic with Cory love. He was just going wild! I ran him all over the park, and the darn thing still didn't pucker out. I got to see Hannaaaaa, Olive, Flower and the gang again.. =) We played this SILLY game where they made me shout, "HOOF ARTED!" = "who farted". >_< I SO didn't get it. I must have yelled it in the park about 15 times, getting weird looks from other dogwalkers. Actually, me and Suey tried to get my friend to say it but he caught on pretty quick! haha, it was funny, the look on his face. Because he pretty much refused to say the phrase unless he had thought about it first. We were going around in circles, but when his turn came up, he sat and thought about it instead of embarassing himself. =) How did he get it so fast?! Darn it.. why didn't I think about it! We even gave him a riddle to solve, and he actually figured it out! What the...! It was one I thought was pretty difficult. Maybe I'm not as average as I think I am.. =O

At church Sunday, the topic was homosexuality. I love how they are totally willing to discuss areas of confusion such as these. Of course they don't encourage it, but they certainly don't shun it or put a hideous label on it as many churches have done.. It's a church for the "least, lost and the last", and I'd be lying if I said I didn't look forward to sermon on Sundays! I actually have a lot of things that I've been meaning to say about the label "christian", lots of random thoughts I've been debating in my head, but I really need to read for art class since I simply have been putting it off until the last mere minutes of class.. >_< Okay, time to power read through these sexist essays!! Talk to you laters Tobes. Leaving you with a song I listened to earlier today that made me feel very sad. For everyone.

<3 Karen

[So I'm waiting for this task to end, so that lighter days can soon begin. I'll be alone, but maybe more carefree, like a kite that floats so effortlessly.

I was afraid to be alone, but now I'm scared that's how I like to be. All these faces run the same, how can there be so many personalities?

So many lifeless, empty hands. So many hearts in great demand, and now my sorrow seems so far away, until I'm taken by these bolts of pain.

But I turn them off, and tuck them away, until those rainy days that make them stay. And then I'll cry so hard to these sad songs, and the words still ring, once here, now gone. They echo through my head everyday, and I don't they'll ever go away. Just like thinking of your childhood home, but we can't go back, we're on our own.

But I'm about to give this one more shot, and find it in myself, I'll find it in myself.

So we're speeding towards that time of year, to the day that marks that you're not here. And I think I'll want to be alone, so please understand that I don't answer the phone.

I'll just and stare at my deep blue walls, until I can see nothing at all. Only particles, some fast, some slow, all my eyes can see is all I know.

But I'm about to give this one more shot, and find it in myself, I'll find it in myself.] Azure Ray/November

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007