Les Parapluies de Cherbourg
June 07, 2004 at 10:24 p.m.
Dear Tobey (AGAIN today!)

Hi love. I just got home from art class a bit ago.. and we watched, what might have been one of the saddest movies I've seen in a while. It took everything I had inside of me not to cry in class. It's a french film, made in 1964, called 'Les Parapluies de Cherbourg' aka 'The Umbrellas of Cherbourg'. The one we watched was the most recent "upgraded" one. It's very strange at first.. The entire movie is sung. There is dialogue, but everyone sings what they feel like saying. My first thought was... "what the weird monkeys is this?!"... inevitably, I got sucked into this sappy love story. I think anyone who has ever been in love and been decieved can relate to this. Or even if you haven't been decieved.. I'm sure anyone who's loved and lost, loved and hurt.. or even just plain loved can relate. And you know I don't normally like sappy love stories! This is very different however. I can't say it enough..! Original. Of course they have this gorgeous girl playing the role of Genevieve. She's SO pretty! In a very preppy, barbie sort of way.. but certainly beautiful. I can't say the same for the guy in the movie.. haha, but I feel so terrible for him throughout the scenes.. Poor guy! It happens to the best of us.. *sigh* I don't know about you, but I felt like I fit easily into the shoes of many of those characters.. I think we've all hurt, been the hurter, been pathetic.. or at least, I have! >_< The only REAL part of the movie is the relationships between the people. The way the director approaches everything else is so off! But that's what's great about it. I think it blended so well together. The ending is sad.. yet, acceptable. Which made me even sadder. It did it's job sucessfully.. I felt so somber afterwards. A quiet sort of grief. The I'm Sorry sad. I thought about some of my friends that are recovering from heart trauma. I thought about the heavy baggage some of us carry, and if people will ever learn to put the past away. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for you. Good night Tobey.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007