Happy Birthday Mike
June 12, 2004 at 2:18 a.m.
Hi darling,

I just got back from Mike's birthday dinner/mini party. We ate at Claim Jumper... and I attempted to eat healthy by getting a salad and soup. I actually got really full from it, and plus we were just eating each others food and sharing like crazy, it was great! Afterwards, me and Caroline went to get beer for everyone at Albertsons. I don't know why this is, but everytime young girls go into a supermarket to buy alcohol, old people, excuse me--old guys start talking to you. I don't think it has anything to do with appearance or anything like that. I think they just become intrigued that girls have come alone to by alcohol, and what!? They figure we will invite them with us...?! hmm.. I sure would like to know what thought process is going on through a 40-year-old man's mind when they start blabbering nonsense talk to young females. I simply don't understand. And why does it always have to start with.. "Are you _______ (fill in the blank. Chinese, Korean, Viet, Japanese)?"!!!??? I guess, ERGO, if you are female, ANY female, or any groups of females (actually, especially in groups), never walk into a supermarket to buy alcohol with just girls. Bring a guy, any guy!! Or else you may have strange men with wrinkles on their foreheads telling you that you should never cut your hair, or, "darn! why didn't I learn _____ (again, fill in) instead of _____ (ditto)?" Yeah, freaky. Be forewarned girls!

After picking up the beers, we went to Mike's house to relax and eat some more!! We played games, did riddles, took tons of pictures, ate ice cream cake for Mike's birthday. It was just the few of us so it was nice! Me, Caroline, Nicole, Ben, Jed, Shaun, Mike, and Jesse. I think Shaun was the only one who got drunk, taking swigs of this GROSS stuff, I don't even know what the heck it was! It smelled so bad, I didn't go near it. >_< Of course I only had a few beers and remained sober. Ben was buzzing AFTER he got home. I can't ever tell when Jed's drunk, b/c he's not a bit different I swear! OOOH---Guess who we got to see today?? BERT! He turned one years old too, since Jed got Bert for Mike last year for his birthday. I will show you who Bert is when I get pictures up. =) I love to run around with Bert in my hands, chasing Ben b/c he's scareeeed. hehehe!

Shaun is celebrating his birthday on Thursday with Bryan this coming week, and well, if you have ever been to one of Shaun's parties.. and if you've ever been to one of Bryan's parties.. imagine those two combined!

The first night without the fam hasn't been so horrible. I'm surviving it anyway. It just seems so big and cold without the rest of them here you know? I hope they are safe and having a good time..

Found out today that I apply in August for Spring admission to Pomona. I hope everything for that works out too.. I'm not sure what to do...?! Well.. I'm getting tired.. I'm supposed to go running with the friends tomorrow. I hope I can wake up!! 99 sweetpea. Oh yeah, sorry about the previous entry.. I'm not so sad about it anymore, I'm okay. =)

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007