Pix with Cousins
June 22, 2004 at 8:44 p.m.
Hey darling!

I go a day without you and I feel like I've been away forever. hehe. Yes--I am obsessed with you my online diary. =D Today, me and the fam went to check out UCLA, the Ghetty art gallery, did a lot of eating, along with much walking to make up for it. >_< and some movie watching in the car! We watched 'How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days' and 'Big Fish' (yes, AGAIN!). 'How to..." is not really my type of movie, but regardless, it was funny!! Kate Hudson is really gorgeous in the movie. Even though the Ghetty is free to get into, their prices for food are WAYYYY overrated!! Coke cans were $1.75 each. Can you believe that?! I mean, I have a limit to how much I'm willing to get ripped off. $1.75 CANNED cokes is definitely on the list, along with valet parking [who should have to PAY for parking huh?!], bags that cost more than the amount of cash you actually carry in your bag, Actually, I think a lot of things that people pay for in this world is pure craziness .... I even sort of think it's absurd that people have to PAY for WATER! I mean.. hehe. I donno, it just seems like something that should be free, no? Anyway.. Pictures are up!

Un Joo (Anna), Bo Young (Tiff), Ji Hyun (me), Suh Hyun (Suey). =D

Here's us at UCLA, I didn't realize I was so heavy, sort of knocked the kids down. =)

Us with the UCLA bear. (and yes, I AM picking its nose!)

Then we had a big debate about how everyone had interpreted 'Big Fish'. Apparently, they thought that what the father had seen in The Eye was the exact same story as his son told as his father lay dying. So basically, they believed it was about fate, saying that The Eye knew how the story would be told when the son would tell the father; ergo, ultimately, FATE. I don't believe in fate, >_< so I disagreed with that train of thought. My interpretation was that the son was doing exactly what his own father had been doing for much of his life. Telling a simple story. I think The Eye showed the father dying in the river (assuming The Eye part happened for real!), but I think the story in itself was something the son had to imagine up for his father. So, reverse roles right? And because his father was laying in his deathbed, it's the most opportune time for the son to be able to let go of his fears and annoyances and do what's considered so wonderful to his father, that he finally realizes that he does actually love.

But you know.. that's what movies do! Even if the director meant to get it across people a certain way, people take what they get from the movie, mesh it up with their own experiences and opinions, and the movie may mean different things for different people, no? So everyone comes up with their own thoughts, view, their favorite parts of movies.. it can become very individualized, and you could possibly end up in a duel of life and death arguing with people about their opinions! hehe. Actually, I think it's important to respect other's opinions in any situation.. like I said before, different experiences make different people, formulating unique individuals. So you realize.. not everyone is like you, and that's OKAY! Because most likely, you're probably quite kooky yourself also.

I went out with my buddy yesterday and we went to a practically deserted bar. hehe. I thought it was an interesting place. An irate bartender with a voice that could really project across the room.. She seemed really controlling of some of her customers! But I guess that's her job? There were actually paintings there, but.. they were all of naked women. WOW, I should tell my art teacher about the place, she would go in there and really be astounded. hehe. Before that, we ate dinner at Shorehouse and actually ran into Dan, Dan and Wig there. I don't know why, but I was so shocked to see anyone there for some reason. I'm not sure why I was quite surprised about it, but I thought I might have chocked on a piece of food from being startled. Well, I sort of know why, but I don't know why I should be!

Anyhow--We're having a cards/karaoke (ergo, embarassing korean songs). Here's pictures from dinner!!

hehe. Cory trying to eat with the family!

See ya later doll.

<3 Karen

Parts of what I'm listening to.. =) [Letters to Cleo / Dreams]

"Now, here you go again you say you want your freedom. Now, who am I to keep you down? It's only right that you should play the way you feel, and listen to carefully to the sound, of the lonliness like a heartbeat drives me mad. And the stillness of remembering, what you had, and what you lost.

Thunder only happens when it's raining. Players only love you when they're playing. Same women, they will come and they go. When the rain washes you clean you'll know. You will know."

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007