Spiderman 2
June 30, 2004 at 2:51 a.m.
Dear Tobey,

I guess I spoke too soon about the tickets.. b/c all of the good seats are goneeeeeeeeeee!!! wahhhhhhhhhhhh~!! Man. I am UPSET! It's my fault though, for not keeping up with the concert news.. [sigh] [sigh] [sigh]. I'm so depressed!!! =( =( =( =( =( I might go to a different concert, one for Modest Mouse if I can manage to drag my friends along! hehe. I don't know very many people who enjoy their music as I do.. But I really want to go! There are a million bands I would like to see live!! It's a good thing I have all my life to attend concerts and such. =D

I just got back from watching 'Spiderman 2' with Suey, Johnny, Henry, Ed, Neil and Jimmy at Spectrum. All of Suey and Johnny's little buddies! They are very nice and funny kids. Henry the dalmation cracks me up. You can point out the constellation on his very unique face. hehe. I brought my Pochacco cards and we played games while waiting an hour and half for the movie. It was fun!! I won the first hand, and that's where my luck left me. hehe. Anyway, about the movie.. it was good action, but quite cheesy! hehe. I liked it b/c I like Tobey McGuire so much. He's the epitome of nerd boy cuteness. =D Kirsten Dunst, of course, very cute throughout the whole movie. I want to watch so many movies!! Farenheit 9/11, The Terminal, even *gasp* a sappy love story like The Notebook. I think it would at least be a better story than something like A Walk to Remember. GAG ME! haha. I shouldn't even be saying those things since I haven't even seen it.

Tonight's movie made me think though, about everything we discussed in art class... about the man being the bearer of the gaze versus women who act as an image. This movie shows this all too well. The structure of the way that Hollywood creates movies is based on the male look with the woman as the product of that gaze: the man is the looker; the woman is merely the empty vessel which receives the look and is thereby filled, transformed into a meaningful image of the man's desire. She is insignificant in the movie because she isn't able to DO anything, she is only the cause and reason for what the man chooses to do. Now, when I first was introduced to these ideas in art class, I mistook them for sexual discriminatory remarks. Now I realize these essays and topics we have been discussing, are merely stating true facts, not supporting one view or the other, only letting the audience be aware of their situations. So don't mistake me for a feminist!! Mistake me for being honest to a fault.

Tomorrow is Hanna's BIRTHDAY!! I'm so proud of this girl. She's intelligent, beautiful, loving, and just plain wonderful to be around. I love her to pieces! I'm going to make sure she has the best birthday at the beach tomorrow. =) It's gonna be so much fun!! Not to mention all the food we're going to consume. ;) hehe.

Finally, night classes are over and summer school is near completion!! I'm so sleepy TObey.. words can't describe, the thoughts running in the back of my mind. These thoughts, I really should push out of my mind actually. I'm really happy, even though it sort of leaves me sullen at times. Time passes, waits for no one, and I wake up to a brighter day. I'm too tired to think anymore.. good night darling!

<3 Karen

Listening to:

Sorry About Dresden : Sick and Sore

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007