BBQ/Pool Day
July 06, 2004 at 2:51 a.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hey love! Have you ever gone to work one day (even though you were told NOT to come into work), only to find out that when you got there, it was closed?! Haha.. man, I am such a GEEK!! I can't believe I did that. I thought I was running late too, so I was fully rushing trying to get there on time.. When I got there, I thought to myself how strange it was that there were no cars in the parking lot. That's when I realized I had come to work when the law office was CLOSED! DAH! >_< Even though I wasted gas, it was sort of good news b/c it turns out that the kids wanted to go to Calafia. BEACH DAY!!! Right? Wrong. Today I discovered that it is very difficult to predict beach weather based on the weather inland. I was very very sad b/c I really wanted to take a nap at the beach and just basically be a lazy bum all day. One disappointment leads to another surprise I suppose, b/c we decided to go to Mission Lake and go kayaking. It was SO fun! I fully loved it.

I love being out on the lake and watching all the other people have so much fun with their family and friends. I love to people watch sometimes. I know it sounds silly and sort of dumb, but it really makes me happy to see other people happy. Watching families with their kids, enjoying their day there, a group of friends just out for fun, couples that are just relaxing, or kids that are wind sailing by themselves.. all of these people are experiencing different kinds of happiness, but I love watching it all b/c this particular emotion comes from the same source: from the heart.

It's so cheap to go out on the lake too! It only cost us $4 for each double kayak for one hour. Do you understand that's less than the cost of a movie ticket?!! I think it made for great exercise as well. =) Caroline and I raced the boys, and I swear that we would have won except that Caroline started to experience muscle failure!! Hehe. I tried really hard to paddle for the both of us, but to no avail. After kayaking, we laid out near the water to try to get some sun, but it got cold pretty fast. Mike and Caroline just remembered that they had food from last night so we decided to have a late BBQ @ Ben's house. Good friends, steak, salad, junk food, a pool and jacuzzi, it doesn't get any better than that huh?! Like Mike said, "This is the life!!" I fully agree. We also had a treading contest in the pool to see who could tread water the longest. I was the second one out.. and I don't even know what happened when Mike and Ben were still out there.. laughing, almost drowning!! Dumb boys, always trying to show off. ;) It was getting late so we went inside.. cleaned up, watched some tv.

We decided to watch MTV's True Life: I'm Obese episode today.. It was really sad how upset some of the girls were about their weight. I mean, yes, they were overweight, and I could see why they would cry and feel horrid.. It just made me sad that they couldn't really seem to help themselves. Then I think about the other half of the world, I'm talking about the starving half, and how it can be that this world can be like this?!!! As Dave so bluntly put it.. "Mother, Father do you know, why one man's belly overflows? Another sleeps in hunger's bed. Oh, we trade our world for a piece of bread.." (Song: Mother Father).. When I read the lyrics to this song, it really makes me depressed. Only because everything he says is so unfortunately true. Even though this song makes me sad, I'm really glad he wrote it. It's not just about world hunger, it's about all of the ugliness in this world, and how the future is really truly in our hands. It's really not enough to sit there and feel sorry for these people, things, ideas and say.. "Wow, I'm so grateful to live in the bubble we call Orange County." Or whatever city you happen to stumble from. Feeling sorry, bad, pitiful, helpless.. none of it matters in the end. Who cares if you shed tears for these unknown people, cities, cultures?? What does it matter in the end.. feeling terrible about things like this. What really counts is if we actually go out there and DO something about it. I'm not trying to put anyone into a guilt trip.. I for one know that right now, I am one of those people who just sits there and feels bad about it. I just hope when we get older and we have more time on our hands, that more people will open up their minds and have the heart to go out there and shake things up a little, and I'm not just talking about charity work!

Sorry Tobey, but I'm about to go from a burdened world topic to a personal individualized train of thought.. hehe, early apologies for this dear, but you've no say in what I want to write about!! =) Well, I guess all I wanted to say was that I missed KB today and want to take him kayaking at the lake b/c it's just too relaxing! He works so hard everyday and I think he deserves every break he gets. Darn that cute little bub for taking up time in my mind! Hehe. It's all right though.. b/c in all honestly I actually enjoy it. =) I don't know why he laughed at me when I told him I like the smell of old yucky socks. I think it's so perfectly normal!! Natural foot odor combined with the softness of 100% cotton. Can't ever go wrong with that can you? Hehe. 99 Tobes.

<3 Karen

P.S.!! I'm going to Rosarito with the regulars in August for the weekend!! I'm so excited. We're inviting whoever wants to go, but you know what.. I don't care who says what, the five of us that were in the jacuzzi today are GOING NO MATTER WHAT!! I'm very much set on going as you can see. =)

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007