Reality
September 11, 2004 at 10:59 pm
Dear Tobey,

Hey you! I went to see the Angels vs. White Sox game in Anaheim last night and it was a really great game! I thought it was a pretty close game as well, but the Angels came through at the end, and we got to see the whole fireworks spiel from the freeway. =) It was fun! I got to see Kim, KB and also met one of KB's buddy David. We were going to go a bar thing for KB's school but we got back so late that we ended up eating soondobu and going back to KB's place where upon we met more people and Johnny. Of course they were all for the most part, WASTED! I stayed sober last night however. =) Today I followed KB into work with breakfast in hand and just hung out with him for a little bit and now I'm home, waiting for Suey so that me her and Sarah can go watch Without a Paddle! Tonight was supposed to be a girl's night out, but everyone got busy so we're doing it next week. =( I might go to a birthday thing tonight at Detroit Bar so we shall see what happens!

You know what else is funny? I was watching the news today with my sisters downstairs just a bit ago, and they were broadcasting how many people came to show their genuine care for the people that passed on this day a few years back. I'm no cruel person, but I just think it's funny watching our society mourn together in such large masses when there are so many other things that are going on in the world as well. I watched people cry their eyes out for every single person in that building and you know what? There were times when I got pretty misty eyed too. It's just that, I wish people would see that there are other people (besides Americans) that are suffering everyday on a needless basis. I guess I just wonder if the people who are bawling their eyes out on television for Americans that passed on 9/11, ever cry like that for children who starve to death EVERYDAY, or do they ever feel sad about people who don't have freedom the way that we have it... Who the hell cries for these people? Why don't Americans ever gather together and get emotional about starving children? And I suppose that there ARE people who do this, or even small groups who do it, but.. it's not a big thing. It never really seems to be a big thing, especially when society kind of makes you stone hard to the images of things we never really truly know. Do these people that we never see get droplets of tears or even a minute's worth of thought from the everyday free and happy American? I doubt it for some reason. I guess what I'm trying to say is that, we're not really all that special. We're not the only ones going through pain, and the rest of the world can bear to be acknowledged every now and then. I don't mean to sound like some anti-American. I love my freedom and I'm more than grateful for my life in this country. I have every opportunity here whereas others do not. I'm just trying to crack your eyes open a little more to the entire story, and not just one chapter. I guess some people would call this reality.

This song, is for everyone.

"Mother, father please explain to me, why a world so full of mystery, a place so bitter and still so sweet, so beautiful and yet so full of sad, sad.

Mother, father please explain to me, why forests march to desert's beat? While snowcapped mountains melt away, what do we tell our babies, what do we say?

Mother, father please explain to me, how a man who rocks his child to sleep, pulls the trigger on his brother's heart. He digs a hole right to the middle of this storm of hatred.

Mother, father please explain to me, how it could be so this world has come to be, a precious balance in between such cruelty and such kindness, please.

Mother, father please explain to me, how this world has come to be unequaled in her blessings, oh, I see unbridled hatred so extreme, please tell me.

Mother, father please explain to me, how this world has come to be so twisted between time and dreams. Oh, mother, father please explain to me.

Oh, what's all this talk about? All this talk about it, spinning down, down. All this talk about, endless words without. And nothing's done.

Mother, father do you know? Why one man's belly overflows? Another sleeps in hunger's bed. We trade our world for a piece of bread.

Mother, father please explain to me, how this rare world's come to be a place so full of color, yet overflowing always in black and white, drowning in the waters of our..

Mother, father please explain to me, how this world has come to be. While still blessed in all the things we see, such a sad, sad home for you and me.

Come out, and hold. Come on out you. Come and save yourself. Come on we've taking the water. But you know, we got the freedom.

There's no God above, and no hell below. It's here with us, it's up to us to keep afloat.

Mother, father please explain to me, how this rare world has come to be. Let the blue planet..

Mother, father please explain to me."

Of course, a song by none other than Dave Matthews and his boys. There is one line I don't agree with in the song and of course it's the one with reference to no God, although I do understand the point he is making. I love this song for it's blatantly obvious lyrics.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007