Cal Poly, Weekend Notes, Career Choices
October 04, 2004 at 10:09 a.m.
Dear Tobey,

I missed class today to apply extremely last minute for Spring Quarter 2005 for Cal Poly Pomona. I don't even know if they will accept my application because I haven't taken speech yet and ALL Cal States require a speech class before transfer. The reason I'm unsure of my app is that I heard that you have to take it at least one quarter before you get into the school, and I just added speech 1 at IVC (a late start 8 week class) because if I don't take it at least now, I couldn't even apply for Fall 2005! So I'm a little antsy right now about everything that is going on and no one will pick up my damn phone calls at the damned school! I really want to get out of here. Since this is so.. UNplanned... I'm in a rush to do everything and I'm questioning everything... like what if I DO go there? I have to find a roommate, I have to find an apartment! I have to apply for loans, ectetera ectetera. I'm so new to all of this and I'm more than slightly confused. I'm also trying to plan out what to do for my birthday which I haven't even completely figured out. I'm trying to study since I didn't go to class. I'm trying to give Cory Pie a bath. And mom is nagging me to walk him. I'm trying to do a hundred things at once and I feel like I'm running around with my head cut off! I can't believe I have to take a freaking speech class. This is so lame! Oh well, I don't care. Gotta do what I gotta do, right?

Weekend was good. KB and I went to a club called White Lotus with some of his grad school buddies. I ended up passing the $20 admission fee because they just assumed I was a pre-paid USC student. I can't believe that parking was $20 bucks in itself. That is freaking ridiculus. We didn't drive however, but I felt really bad for his friend who did pay the parking fee, so we got him a drink. Re-lived the Rosarito days and got a Fuzzy Navel. hehe. It was a fun night. I was buzzed but not THAT buzzed. We danced to some pretty bad music on an extremely over occupied dance floor, but I was dancing with KB so I didn't care. It was actually pretty fun! Drinks were so expensive, but at least I didn't have to pay to get in! Lines to the bathroom were unsightly. Didn't see any celebrities, but saw a lot of pretty trendy people. I swear that everyone that I saw in that club was not bad looking in the slightest sense. Other events of the weekend consisted of eating, a LOT. Pat and Oscars, Wahoos, pho! Watched Donnie Darko on Saturday night and we both fell asleep at midnight. Never gone to bed that early before. Studied for a good amount of hours at the Levy Library at USC with KB. I'm sure he's going crazy too right now with his tests and practicals. Good luck Bub!!

There are so many things that I need to STOP doing and START doing. I kinda feel like my life is all out of order. Talked more about grad/vet/school with KB and he helped me make more sense of things. Since I want to get a teaching credential before I leave Cal Poly, that will probably take me an extra year. However, I am not positive if I want to do this option anymore because I'd rather teach college students I think. If I want to teach at a community college, I only need to get a Masters. If I want to teach at a University and do research, I have to get a PhD. This is even if I want to be a teacher. If I want to work as a biologist for the State of California, I have to get a Masters. If I want to work as a biologist for the United States Government, I have to get a PhD. I guess along those lines, I have SOME generality. Then vet school is an entire different story. If I go to vet school, it would most likely be out of state because there ain't no way in hell I'm getting into Davis. And Davis, is so damn far anyway, I might as well go out of state! Well, KB suggested that if I do get a teaching credential, that I apply to vet school as soon as I get my zoo degree and if I don't get in, apply again after I get my teaching credential, which is a very good idea, or if I don't take that path, apply while I am in grad school for Masters and go if I get in, and that way, I wouldn't really be "wasting" time.

Then I sit down and I SERIOUSLY think about what my life is going to consist of if I choose between teacher, biologist and vet. I sit down and think, where am I going to be in 10 years from now and what kind of career option do I want to take? In 10 years from now, I'll be 31 years old. What kind of life will I be living then? Am I going to be married? Am I going to have kids? Or am I going to stay alone (like Dr. Huntley!) and travel on my own, doing research on my own? How passionate am I about being a wildlife biologist? Would I be willing to move out of the States for a while to envoke on research opportunities? If I did go to vet school (on a miracle!), I know for certain I wouldn't be a practicing vet for pets (or so I think), I'd rather be a vet for wildlife. If I stayed in the States, maybe a zoo or research company. Maybe out of the States for research. Who knows? Do I want then, what I want now? Or will other things and needs come crashing into my career choice? Do I want to have this "family" orientated lifestyle, or do I want to become completely absorbed in my career. Is there a median? What kind of career would offer me that? Most likely teaching, or being a vet in the States, or a biologist in the States with teaching being the most flexible. Or do I want to follow my dreams and be the thing I've always wanted to be.. How important is all this to me? These are all of the things that I think about as I'm applying for school and thinking about my major. What is it that I want.. will this change later..

The only thing that is definite, is me being very buzzed on Friday. Off to start my day and worries. Any advice?

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007