On Risks
December 07, 2004 at 5:21 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

How's the internet treating you my online journal exposed to all the world!? =D I'm feeling a little silly if you couldn't tell. I just woke up from a fabulous nap. I haven't been able to have a nap in a while, so it was very much welcomed!

I don't have speech tonight, so I'm supposed to take advantage of this time to write papers, prepare for my speech.. etcetera etcetera etcetera.. but you know I! Must procrastinate for a while before I really dive in..

Ben is turning 21 this Saturday! Isn't that exciting? I'm more excited than he is. Jonathan, Mike and I are going to go down and see him on Saturay. We'll get to see Jed too. It's been a while since we all got together, so it will be nice. =) Then I'm going to spend the rest of my weekend studying for finals. WHOOO. I'm devoting one day for each subject. I have to go to work on Friday, but afterwards I can study for physics. Saturday I'm going to try to study in the afternoon before I hang out with the kids for speech. That's all I should need for that class. Sunday is o-chem day! Actually, THIS WEEK is what's horrible, not finals week. Just cause so many different things are due. Anyhow! I should get started.. Leaving you with some random pictures. =)

Isn't my sister the cutest thing you've ever seen? I MISS HER! =(

Me and Mike at Jeds during the summer.

Joey, in MY halloween costume at work!

Sorry, it's a bad picture! One night, while driving up to see KB, it took me about 3.5 hours to drive up there from OC! I got so frustrated that I took a picture of what I saw. Unfortunately, I didn't think about flash, etc. Oh well.. I sat through that just to see...

THIS PERSON! =D

.. and it was worth it. =) (cheesy huh?!) This past weekend when I was over there. I was suddenly awakened at 8:30 in the morning from horrible screaming that sounded just like my mom's. Turned out to be this korean couple who were just screaming at each other for almost 30 minutes straight. Actually, it was mostly the girl screaming on top of her lungs. I think they were even throwing stuff at each other! It seriously gave me the chills because it reminded me so much of my mother. It's really disgusting how people can scream like that.

One more thing before I go!

On risks..

"To laugh is to risk appearing a fool.
To weep is to risk appearing sentimental.
To reach out for another is to risk involvement.
To expose feelings is to risk exposing yourself.
To place your ideas and dreams before a crowd is to risk rejection.
To love is to risk not being loved in return.
To live is to risk dying.
To hope is to risk despair.
To try is to risk failure.

The greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing. The person who risks nothing nor does nothing, has nothing and is nothing. One may avoid suffering and sorrow, but simply cannot learn, feel, change, grow or love. Chained by the certitudes, the individual is a slave and has fortified freedom. Only a person who risks is free."

To procrastinate is to risk a lower grade. I guess in this case, this risk shouldn't be taken! Especially if it's been carried on much too long. heh. Getting started. ttyl Tobey. =)

<3 Karen

"Love truth, but pardon error."

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007