Diversity
February 10, 2005 at 11:15 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hi love. Just got back from dinner at Lindseys. Spaghetti, garlic bread, salad and variety juice!! hehe. It was very yummy and I had a really good time with her family. Her son Clark is just the cutest thing ever. I was supposed to go to 330 with the girls, but I was simply too wiped out after watching CSI for the first time at Lindsey's house. I'm really going to miss everyone at the bank. It has been so great getting to know everyone. Even for the people I didn't really like at first.. for me, I just can't hold a hate against anyone for too long. I just realize later that whatever reason I had for not liking them, is simply not enough to hold someone in contempt. It's silly..

I have some friends that can really annoy the heck out of me. Also have some known co-workers that I really have to wonder about.. but if I sit down and really think about it, I really have no evidence to dislike someone with such passion. It's not enough to just find flaws in a person and say.. well, just because of those flaws.. I don't want to know them! That's ridiculous, when I have my own set of flaws as well. I guess what I'm saying is.. who's to judge? We are all so vastly different from each other, it's impossible to love everyone on first contact. It would also be incredibly boring to have a million replicas of youself walking the earth no? Diversity is good: in opinion, amongst friends, at the work, in the home, with your family, in love. The hard part is not becoming a constant nit picky judge of this diversity. I choose to accept it (eventually anyway), because I hope others will accept me with my flaws as well (this eventually also!).

So the next time you think someone is freaking ________ (stupid, ugly, acting retarded, ..... fill in the blank), it wouldn't be a bad idea to step back and look at yourself before you begin the judging. Hopefully you are using the same ruler to judge yourself as you do others, and not some altered one made especially from your bias.

Sweet dreams Tobey.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007