Stressed Health
February 18, 2005 at 11:02 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

I just got off of a medical forum where they were discussing perioral dermititis. Some people on the board believe that stress and diet are the primary causes for perioral dermititis. They don't believe in medicinal treatment, and told me I should ditch the antibiotics and work on balancing my body and becoming more stress free.

Personally, I think that is a bunch of bullshit because I have never been so stress free in my life. I'm not even in school for God's sake! If stress is really the underlying cause of my ordeal, than I should have had perioral dermititis years ago when I went through my first heartache, or at least a few semesters ago when I was taking organic chemistry. That stressed me out like no other. Then they were telling me to change my diet and not eat anything that has sugar in it. Are they fucking joking me? My diet has not changed since the 8th grade. True, that my intake of food is not necessarily the most healthy route, but if diet is one of the reasons for my dermititis, why didn't I get it earlier?

I just think it's too much of a cop out to say that it's ALL stress and diet. I do think that they play a role in your health, physically and mentally, but I don't think that they are the main reason for something like red bumps around my face. It's just too easy to say that stress is the main cause for fucking everything!

For a prolonged period of time, I was putting a topical steroid cream on my face that was given to me from a friend. In my opinion, THIS is the main reason for my breakout, NOT my so called stress and diet. In most cases where patients had this dermititis, they were also using a topical steroid cream on their face before their outbreak.

I know I really shouldn't be, but I'm strangely irritated at these people who believe that mental health directly corralates to their physical health. I think that it's 50/50. I don't believe it's all mental. I think it's a good mix of genes, mental health, and environmental factors as well. Plus or minus any of those things, including others as well, depending on the disease. I mean, you can't THINK your way out of cancer. You might be able to slow it down, or be able to deal with it in a more favorable way, but by no means are you going to be able to beat the disease by thinking good thoughts and staying stress free. That's a sack of bullshit if you ask me.

I know. I'm being an ass.

Goodnight.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007