Forgiveness
Thursday, Mar. 03, 2005 at 9:12 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hello love! I'm learning a new vocabulary word say.... every week. I'm not going to say that I'm going to learn a new word everyday because I know that if I do that, I won't really learn the word. I'll forget it the second I learn my new word. So I think that a week is enough time to really engrave it in. heh.

Magnanimity noun:

The quality of being generously noble in mind and heart, especially in forgiving.

I like the definition of this word so much, because I think that everyone should learn how to genuinely forgive. It's a hard thing to forgive and really mean it. I've been in situations in the past where I've said that I forgave that person, but in heart, I just never really could let it go. I spoke the words, but it didn't matter because I was still so bitter inside. It made me so mad that I forced myself to be a fake and pretend like I had really forgiven the other person. Eventually I just got so angry with myself I couldn't hide it anymore.

Now that I'm older, I realize that when I say those words, "I forgive you," I really better mean them before I decide that I will give myself the burden of false forgiveness which brings extreme degrees of bitterness and resentment. With being older, I have also learned to genuinely forgive with much more ease. Learning to not be so bitter and hold so much anger in my heart has made everything so much easier. I think this is all because my thought process about people changed dramatically over the years. Like when I wrote my 'Everyone's Different, So Are You'!

--> http://adoggy07.diaryland.com/040601_64.html

I firmly believe these things to be true. It's funny how people let these silly little differences get in the way of their lives. Granted, I still make my share of mistakes. I still have to keep trying my best to continue to learn from them.

I really must get myself into bed. Leaving you with a song to end the topic.

Ari Hest - I Forgive You
I haven't heard from you since
Well, I can't even recall your face
Isn't it sad to think that
Our younger years have been replaced by
Responsibilities and life's little intricacies
When everyone's trying hard to be
It's easy to loose track

You said some things to me that
I have had trouble forgetting about
But there ain't no sense in holding
Grudges forever that's the simple way out

We may not be so close now
Staying enemies I won't allow
And the only way that I know how
To let go is to tell you
I forgive you

No sense, no sense in holding grudges
Let it go.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007