Fishing Accident
Sunday, Mar. 06, 2005 at 11:05 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Today was definitely not one of the greatest days ever. In fact, just a few hours ago I was really dubbing it the worst day ever, but on second thought from the wise words of a friend, I don't think it's the worst, because it actually could have been A LOT worse. It wasn't a series of events that made it bad, but one horrible accident that made it so ugly. Okay. Here goes nothing. Mike and I went fishing today at Yorba Linda Regional Park again, and we decided to take Cory with us. It was a beautiful sunny day, so why not? We fished for quite a bit of time, and we were getting ready to pack up and leave. We were putting the last bait back into the box, when Cory suddenly lunges at the bait. I guess he thought it was maybe food or something. As you all know, dogs explore almost EVERYTHING with their mouths. Those things are their fingers.

If a dog could scream, Cory was screaming at the top of his lungs. He started flipping out, yelping and crying like crazy, trying frantically to get the bait out of his mouth. The bait was a 3 prong hook on both ends of the bait. Two of the prongs on one end had pierced through his lip. As he was trying to get it out, he used his paw to try to get it out. Of course his paw got snagged into the other end of the bait which only caused him more pain. So there he was crying and screaming in pain, while Mike and I tried frantically to get the bait out. He actually bit us pretty hard because he had no idea what was going on. Eventually, Cory broke the bait and ended up having the one hook stuck on each end where it had snagged. One on his lip and the other on his paw. Oh, it was HORRIBLE! I never felt so bad in my life. This dog is so important to me and I love this dog so much, I couldn't bear to see him in pain. The entire park was staring at us, and some people came over to help. They gave us directions to a near by vet and we were able to go take Cory there. My poor baby. =( He was shaking so badly on the way there. He had to be sedated so that they could take the hooks out. I'm sure that it still hurts a bit. They also gave him a shot of penicillin in case of infection. I can't even imagine the pain and horror.

Even though this horrible accident occured today, I realized just moments ago how grateful I should be, because it really REALLY could have been so much worse. What if he had swallowed the bait? That could totally have been fatal and much more expensive. It was actually not as much as I thought it would be. The grand total was $197.00, which really wasn't that bad. Mike thought it would be like $700.00, and I thought it would be $300 at least. So all things considered, the outcome was quite good. The most horrible part was just poor Cory having to endure the pain of being hooked. I couldn't even believe what was happening when it happened. I thought for sure we would be able to get it out. SO MUCH STRESS!! But I'm really grateful and happy that everything turned out all right. Mike and I only had a few minor cuts on our fingers from Cory's bites. Actually, Mike's looked way worse than mine.

I'm so relieved I don't have to go to work tomorrow.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007