Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
Tuesday, Mar. 08, 2005 at 2:18 a.m.
Dear Tobey,

I finished watching (this time, wide awake) Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Like almost everyone I have talked to, I really enjoyed the movie. The first time I saw it, I was half asleep from tiredness and ended up falling asleep and not even getting to see the ending. It was very depressing and wonderfully happy all at the same time. I've never seen a movie with such a fitting title. If you've seen the movie, you'll know it's in a quote by Alexander Pope that says,

"How happy is the blameless vestal's lot!
The world forgetting, by the world forgot
Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!
Each pray'r accepted, and each wish resign'd."

I was trying to dissect this poem earlier and I started to google it up for other people's interpretations and found mixed feelings on the subject. Some view the quote "as is" from the mouth of Alexander Pope and expect it to be read the way it was originally intended. The original intent of "spotless" supposed to be meaning, "without moral stain".

To me, that is the wonderful thing about literature, quotes, readings, lyrics, etcetera. The fact that there is no ONE meaning for the lines. Whether it's original meaning is completely opposite from how you see it; regardless of how they want you to see it; every person takes in meanings in a different light based on their personal experiences. I think it's important that the original meaning of the author be recognized. I believe in giving credit for their words and thoughts. But, I don't ever believe that anything you see, read or hear should be interpretated the way it was meant to be or supposed to be. Even though the exact meaning of "spotless" to Alexander Pope does not match most viewers thoughts on the movie, it doesn't matter. What's so wrong with that anyway? I didn't think of it as "moral stain" either, but simply as an emptied mind which now has the capability of starting over. With the way most people viewed the movie, I think the title is deemed quite worthy.

"A child's mind is like a blank sheet of paper, on which every person leaves a mark."

I still want to discuss, but I have orientation at 9:00 am tomorrow!! I should be asleep by now. Good night Tobey.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007