Being Happy
Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005 at 12:53 a.m.
Dear Tobey,

A good friend of mine has recently learned of some bad news, and although I will not devulge into details here, it does make me ponder about the things we start to experience as we get older. It's dawned upon me, the scariness of the ignorance that lies in youth's mind. True, many people experience disasters at an early age, but it seems to become even more frequent with age. Some start thinking about accidents, diseases, ... all these scary things that could potentially lead to death. I'm not sure if I should even be talking about this as I have never experienced the death of a loved one. I do not speak from experience, only from concept and ponderings... so excuse my ignorance as well. It might seem difficult to stay optomistic in times such as these.. but I think it's important to stay that way if possible.. for the sake of yourself as well as the person in pain.

I for one, worry like no other in stressful times, but I do realize that most of it is in vain. Like Mark Twain said, "I've lived a long life and known a great deal of worries, most of which have never happened." I do understand why people worry about the things they do.. For the most part, people tend to over worry and put themselves through emotional trauma brought on by none other by themselves. But if you do happen to be in a situation where nothing can be done for a better outcome.. seek acceptance. Whether this is in regard to the possibility of death, or the chance of some other emotional outbreak, when nothing can be done.. "done bun can't be undone."

A bit limited on time.. so I'll leave quotes to show you what I mean.

"When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change."

"Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference."

"Have sweet dreams� and follow them."

"Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery. Today is a gift, that�s why they call it the present."

"There are people who play in the rain, and then there are those that get wet."

I guess all of these quotes have similar concepts that run between them. Basically, life is simply, what you choose to make of it. Everybody has had their fair share of crap in life. The degrees of these burdens really cannot be compared when not everyone has experienced each other's pains. Death of a loved one, death of your heart, financial burdens, ... so on and so on... they are all horrible things that we all wish no one we love goes through.. but things happen. Life happens. Grief is something each individual deals with separately, but just remember that being happy does not signify that you are forgetting about a pain you might have dealt with. Being happy does not mean that you don't remember your dead father. Being happy does not mean that you erased a past relationship with hate or no memories at all. Being happy and living life does not mean that you leave things behind. It means you accept your past burdens, and carry them with you, but you are always looking ahead to your bright future.

"The future is as bleak or as beautiful as you want it to be."

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007