The Second Planet
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2005 at 9:49 p.m.
Hi Tobey,

How are you love? Today was utterly exhausting. Sometimes I wonder why I torture myself in the morning with the process of getting up. I keep hitting the snooze button for those precious extra 5 minutes, which turn into 10, and 15... And every time I wake back up, I feel the pains of such grogginess!! THAT my friend, is TORTURE! I should just get up immediately and feel the pain of waking up to the bright sun just once no? And not over and over again. I think that exhausts me. So, eventually I did end up dragging what seemed like only half my mind to cmdb (what Richard from class calls cell/molecular developmental biology). Also met with the dermo doc today and I'm on anti-biotics for 5 more weeks. FUN! (not). My dermititis is quite stubborn. Rushed back just in time to make it so vert. zoo lab with the kids. Then absent-mindedly tried to have a study group for cmdb with Jere and some other classmates. The horror is school is really starting to become an unfaceable reality now.

On a happier note, I went to Borders today with Darren and O and I bought the 16th anniversary version of The Little Prince, and I absolutely love it. I'm just going to be leaving bits and pieces of what my heart has grown to become so faithful and loving of.

The second planet was inhabited by a very vain man.

"Ah! A visit from an admirer!" he exclaimed when he caught sight of the little prince, still at some distance. To vain men, other people are admirers.

"Hello," said the little prince. "That's a funny hat you are wearing."

"It's for answering acclamations," the very vain man replied. "Unfortunately, no one ever comes this way."

"Is that so?" said the little prince, who did not understand what the vain man was talking about.

"Clap your hands," directed the man.
The little prince calpped his hands, and the very vain man tipped his hat in modest acknowledgement.

This is more entertaining than the visit to the king, the little prince said to himself. And he continued clapping. The very vaim man continued tipping his hat in acknowledgement.

After five minutes of this exercise, the little prince tired of the game's monotony. "And what would make the hat fall off?" he asked.

But the vain man did not hear him. Vain men never hear anything but praise.

"Do you really admire me a great deal?" he asked the little prince.

"What does that mean-admire?"

"To admire means to acknowledge that I am the handsomest, the best-dressed, the richest, and the most intelligent man on the planet."

"But you're the only man on your planet!"

"Do me this favor. Admire me all the same."

"I admire you," said the little prince, with a little shrug of his shoulders, "but what is there about admiration that interests you so much?" And the little prince went on his way.

"Grown-ups are certainly very strange," he said to himself as he continued on his journey.

I wish you could see the illustrations in the book. I think it meshes quite nicely with the text of the book. Have sweet dreams Tobey, and follow them.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007