On Being Romantic
Friday, Apr. 29, 2005 at 9:22 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hi sweetheart. How goes it? I'm feeling a large range of emotions as usual. It all depends on whatever I happen to be dwelling my thoughts on I guess. It's unbelievable to me the changes that are occuring in my life right now. I just feel.. so many things at once. I'm pissed and filled with rage, but I also feel depressed and somewhat unable to accept what has happened. Only because, I never thought it would. I feel my heart welling up with tears sometimes, just whenever I happen to be thinking about it, when at I'm work, or school.. and I feel really sad. But in the end, I stick with what I chose because I'm simply not a sack of shit and I don't feel anyone should be treated that way.

On other topics, I was also thinking about something funny that KB asked me. He asked me, "Karen, do you wish that I were more romantic?" I replied back with, "It doesn't matter what I wish because you are who you are." So! That's what got me thinking about this lovely topic. I think it's very odd when a girl asks her bf to buy her flowers, or to buy something. Anything. In a lot of cases, the guy buys this item for the girl just to make her happy. And the girl ends up being happy because she believes that flowers somehow correspond with the amount that he cares for her, thinks about her, etcetera. I admit that flowers are nice, but by no means does it directly associate with how a guy feels about you! And when you force someone into buying something with the threat of an emotional outburst, it just doesn't seem genuine in my opinion.

What was funny to me last night was that KB apologized to me and said that he was sorry he wasn't more so that way and it was due to the fact that he was exhausted from school and was a poor college student. Goodness! Being romantic has nothing to do with money. You don't necessarily need to buy something for your significant other to show them that you can be romantic. Ever hear of a phrase that goes, "it's the little things that count"? I guess the definition of "little things" probably varies for everyone, but I'm talking about things that have no monetary value (a hug, a simple note/email/whatever, a kiss on the forehead, or anything time invested...!). So, girls (or I guess it could even apply to some guys), there's no need to fret for itemized things. I mean, do you really want all that when it doesn't even come from the heart? I wouldn't want anything that wasn't genuine.

Anyways! Sorry, I'm cut short. KB is here. You got the take home message right?! ttyl.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007