Vet School? Pt 2.
Monday, May. 16, 2005 at 6:35 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

I am confused as ever. Right now, it pertains to my school and career choices for later in life. I know that I want to work with animals, but I have no idea which path to embark on. I've basically narrowed it down to 2 choices: going to vet school, or getting a phd in an animal related field and doing studies on them, possibly at a university, which would mean that I would be doing teaching as well. Both of those choices are going to be extremely difficult, but the choices in itself are SO different and would affect my lifestyle in so many ways.

If I decide to go to vet school, I'm going to have to quit my job at the bank (which means a loss of $2000.00 a year in tuition reimbursal), and start a job at a vet clinic for experience and hours. This just means more loans and loans. FUN! If I decide to go to vet school and I am dead serious about going, that means I have to be willing to go ANYWHERE to go to vet school. Am I willing to go out of state? Am I willing to go out of the country? I have to be able, mentally to do these things if need be. If I have to move somewhere far far away to go to school, how will that change my whole entire life? In every possible way. What would happen with my relationship with Mike? What would happen to friends? I wouldn't be able to see my family as much. Of course, this would be a completely different story if I got into and decided to go to Western University, the only other vet school in California besides UC Davis, located in Pomona. When it comes down to it... what I decide for myself when it comes down to a higher education and a life long career, all has to be based on myself and no other persons involved. I know that it's silly to think about your boyfriend when making these sorts of decisions, but I can't help thinking ahead I guess. I know I shouldn't make my decision based on him, and that's what I meant when I said that no other persons should be involved. I have to be absolutely selfish in my decision on this because it's all about me. I have to be 110% independent from anyone elses thoughts because when this is said and done, I'll be in this alone and I have to be happy with my decision. And think about the devestation I would feel from doing all this work to apply for vet school and I didn't get in. Honestly? The requirements are not all that bad. I was actually a little shocked at the requirements. 1 year of bio, physics, chem, o-chem, a semester of genetics, biochem, and some additional non-science related classes, plus of course your GRE. I'm so confused about what to do right now...

But the thing is.. I already know that I have to at least make the attempt to go to vet school or else I'll regret it for the rest of my life.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007