Selfish Science
Thursday, May. 26, 2005 at 11:18 a.m.
Hi Tobey,

My mood is definitely feeling better, but not by far too much. I was in cell/molec bio class today and all I could think about was how much bullshit this all really is. I don't know why I started feeling this bitterness. Our teacher is a very knowlegable guy, but would I say that he's intelligent and kind? I don't know about that. I'm finding myself disappointed by selfish and lazy individuals. Everybody is out for their own and isn't really too helpful. Even teachers, and especially students. I probably am just feeling this way for right now. I feel irritated by the whole, "scientific community" and how they function. They all just seem like self-righteous assholes who just want to make a huge discovery so they can make a mark in science. To be important. And to be of importance, you have to discover something that will astound people. You have to be known. If it's not being known in the scientific community, it's about money. That's what people work for. Hell, we all work for the green bucks, but can't we have some humanity?! Well. Maybe humanity IS being excessively selfish, I don't know anymore.

What does this all even matter anyway? I'm not sure if I understand WHY these things are of such importance anymore. Can scientists ever let things be without explaination? Do they have to give everything a name and symbol? Even to things that they themselves don't understand? I'm beginning to learn that there is so much that we don't know. However, I don't feel that it's useless. I think science is a great area of study. Of course the things people discover are of importance. I just wonder about the level of importance I guess.. And even though so many things are simply hypotheses, they've spent so much time theorizing things that they can't see that it could potentially be wrong. They don't WANT to believe it's wrong, whatever the reasons. I guess that can go out to a number of people besides scientists.

In any aspect of life, when you've put in so much energy and time into something, you don't really want to let it go. I think I'm feeling that right now too. So maybe I'm just like all those blasted scientists that I seem to despise so much, just in another light. Where is this bitterness steming from? I doubt that science has the answer nor is the answer.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007