San Francisco Trip + Pictures
Tuesday, Jun. 28, 2005 at 7:32 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hiiii. I know I'm long overdue for an entry. Just been a lot going on lately! As you know, I spent my weekend with KB in San Francisco. I've only been there once before with my family and I was so young that I don't recall much from the trip, so it's nice to have a fresh memory of the city in mind.

We departed KB's apartment around 8 am, stopped off at McDonald's for breakfast (hey! We had no options), and drove roughly a 6 hour drive to arrive in San Francisco around 2 pm. We were in very little traffic so we were quite lucky. After we checked in, we walked over (first, the wrong way) to Pier 39.

I'm pointing at Alcatraz here.

I'm trying to eat Alcatraz here. MISSED!

Got it. =)

Here is Mike trying to hold Alcatraz. hehe.

Don't you just love the people on the bench staring at Mike like he's a flippin weirdo?! I love this picture!

We had some yummy clam chowder and walked around for a bit. I saw The World Famous Bush Man, and I don't know why I didn't take a picture of him!! He was so damn funny!! It was freaking hilarious to see other people get scared by Bush Man. Had a couple of screamers too. Walked back over to the hotel (which was quite nice BTW!), and took a nap before we went out to meet Nghia on "sesame street". =) He has quite a nice apartment. He took us to eat at Libertines, a small pub/restaurant.

WOW. SO GOOD! I can't believe how amazing their food was. I ate almost everything on my plate. I loved it. If I ever go back to San Francisco, that place is a MUST. Then we just went bar hopping at night with Nghia and drinks were unbelievably cheap. We went to the local bars where they only serve straight up hard liquor or beer and only take cash! That's pretty amazing to me. Mike really loved it.

Best buddies. =)

Boys!

He really likes the city. I didn't get too messed up that night, but KB did! He was so messed up, after he threw up his dinner into our toilet, he was able to say goodbye to his throw up as I flushed it down the toilet. Pretty funny eh? Well, I thought it was!! The next day we went to go visit his cousin in Berkley, where we were also able to enjoy Top Dog hotdogs.

Here we are at the subway station, waiting for BART.

But I'd have to say the highlight meal of the day was eating at this Indian restaurant, recommended to us by Nghia's roomie Casey. I was pretty skeptical about it, but as soon as I tried that chicken masala... I knew I was dead wrong! That stuff is the shit. Indian food rocks! I <3 it so much.

Mike waiting for indian food.

That night we went to another local (but a little more trendier) nightclub with Nghia, Nancy and some of their friends. THAT night, I was pretty darn wasted.

Here I am, wasted with Nghia!

Nancy and Mike look so funny here!

=D

The next morning was check out time, and we made the drive back home. All in all, I'd say we did a lot of eating, walking, and a moderate amount of drinking. I did some shopping as well. It made for a very good first trip to Frisco, a thank you to Nghia for showing us around all these great places! And thank you to KB as well. =)

A Funny Joke!

A housewife takes a lover during the day, while her husband works. Unbeknown to her, her 9 year old son was hiding in the closet.

Her husband came home unexpectedly, so she hid her lover in the closet. The boy now has company.

Boy: "Dark in here."
Man: "Yes it is."
Boy: "I have a baseball."
Man: "That's nice."
Boy: "Want to buy it?"
Man: "No, thanks."
Boy: "My dad's outside."
Man: "OK, how much?"
Boy: "$250."

In the next few weeks, it happens again that the boy and the mom's lover are in the closet together.

Boy: "Dark in here."
Man: "Yes, it is."
Boy: "I have a baseball glove."
Man: "How much?"
Boy: "$750."
Man: "Fine."

A few days later, the father says to the boy, "Grab your glove. Let's go outside and toss the baseball."

The boy says, "I can't. I sold them."

The father asks, "How much did you sell them for?"

The son says, "$1,000."

The father says, "That's terrible to overcharge your friends like that. That is way more than those two things cost. I'm going to take you to church and make you confess."

They go to church and the father alerts the priest and makes the boy sit in the confession booth and closes the door.

The boy says, "Dark in here." The priest says, "Don't start that shit again"

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007