Hurricane Katrina
Saturday, Sept. 03, 2005 at 10:26 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hiiiiieee sweetiee. How's it going? Isn't it great? Finals! Are! Over! =) =) =) What a relief. A short relief with Fall Quarter starting September 22nd, but still... short better than none. Went to Tentations last night with Mary Anne and Negar. Had a little buzz going. Danced all my school stress that I had inside me all away. Yesterday night was GREAT because it wasn't packed with people, so more room to dance on the floor! I love that.

Hurricane Katrina is a horrible horrible event to happen to those people in the southern part of our States. But... I've said this before and I'll say it again. I think it's kind of strange that there is so much awareness when something happens to Americans or even when when a tragic event happens to a person or group of persons that aren't USED to having something bad happening to them (usually in the States). I think it's weird how people are all freaked out about people not having water in Louisiana, but are not freaked out about other people in different countries who are starving to death everyday, who are dying from lack of water, who are dying from a spreading disease, where rape is the norm and all of these people who are dying just a little everyday for all of their lives. Where tragic death is common. So common that it goes unnoticed in America. Who hurts for those people? Who sheds tears for the children that you see on television advertisements asking for donations? I mean, sometimes I think that Americans see those commericals so often, there's not even much of an effect. We just got used to it. I mean, I'm not saying that it's a bad thing that there is so much attention and help being brought to Hurricane Katrina's victims. I'm just saying... it's funny how we only see certain colors of the rainbow, blinded by our own ignorance. I mean, I can't say much, I'm one of them too. I try to see as much as possible, but I know that we are all limited. I know that we can't help everybody. You can't make everyone happy... but just because something seems/is impossible doesn't mean it's okay to simply ignore and let the infection continue. The world as a whole is chock full of problems, and we, the everyday people of America only see the problems we want to help and simply turn our backs on the ones we think we can't help or don't want to help. Just strange how things, people, get overlooked. There must be something more..

Good night for now.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007