Hydroplaning
Monday, Jan. 02, 2006 at 8:37 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hydroplaning: The loss of road contact due to the buildup of water between the tire tread and road surface. Many factors affect hydroplaning, such as speed, water depth, tread depth and inflation pressure, so to combine and create a lifting force that is exerted underneath the tire. The layer of water formed between the tires and road reduces friction with the tires. They stop rotating, causing the vehicle to act like an unpowered and unsteered sled.

Today I saw the scariest thing of my life. I was driving to my Chino Hills home leaving my parents house in Aliso Viejo and I was on the 57. I was in the 4th lane over (right next to the carpool lane) and driving behind a red pick up truck. I kept my distance because it was pouring like mad! Pretty windy too. I'm just looking straight ahead, driving... when the truck in front of me loses control and swerves left only to make contact with the center divider (thank God no one was driving in the car pool lane at the time). Then the truck proceeds to turn to face my direction, flips over and slides facing the center divider once again. Thankfully I was far enough behind him where I was able to stop safely behind him without him hitting me. I can't even imagine what would have happened if the environmental factors were a little worse, or if the driver choose to do a different action. I just couldn't believe that it happened right in front of my eyes. I sat there in shock for a little bit, then got out to see if the guy was okay. Amazingly he crawled out of the truck with only a nose bleed. I called 911 and the police got there within 5 minutes.

It's amazing what little things can factor in to making a turn of events... Little small decisions like not following too closely, having your head lights on, not driving 75 mph in the pouring rain... in this case, causing his car to hydroplane out of control... I mean. WOW. Everyone, PLEASE. Be careful when it rains. Especially when you have other lives in the car with you as well. Even if you are alone, don't forget there are other lives on the road that are affected by your driving also. KB said that I was a "good samaritan" for seeing if the guy was okay and for calling 911. I don't think I was being a good samaritan at all. I think what I did should be the norm. I think it would be fucked up to just leave the scene of the accident. How can NOT helping even BE an option?? There's nothing valiant about it either. It's what every one of us in that kind of situation should do.

On a cheerier note, I went to eat Wendy's with D and watch Munich. Was a very good movie. I thought it a bit long, but the overall message was a good and obvious one. I was also slightly lost on the details of the movie, but nevertheless, I enjoyed it much.

I start school tomorrow!! BAH. Just physics.. then off to work I go. Hopefully see KB? He's snowed in at Mammoth right now. DRIVE HOME SAFE BUBS!

<3 Karen

P.S. I gymed my fat ass today!! Determined to lose weight. ONCE AND FOR ALL!! heh.

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007