Corporations Suck
Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006 at 7:04 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Well.. I'm having a hell of a day. Working for B of A is so annoying sometimes. Especially when you work at a branch that is not very well managed!! I mean, I'm not saying that about all the managers, but certain ones... honestly. They are terrible at interacting with their associates. All they want is for us to see it from their point of view, but some of them NEVER try to see it from our point of view. All they say is, "I understand." And that's as far as their understanding goes. They simply DON'T. I think we'd be a hell of a lot more effective if EVERYBODY knew how to do everything!! Then we wouldn't have to be running around getting approvals, and everyone could be a freaking vault teller and have coin, and we could actually HELP customers instead of giving them the run around.

For example, today I got a "talk" for what? For doing my job. For privacy purposes, I will refer to people by letters..... A, one of our managers (who is actually quite awesome) had to leave for a while because of a family emergency. This left B and C to handle things behind the tellers. B is a sweetheart but a total stress case. C is also a sweetheart but with a bite. C is also confused sometimes because it's new being in this position for her. D is the big boss of the whole place, and he was out doing lobby. E was the vault teller at the time, and she had to take a lunch. Tellers F, G, H needed to all take a lunch and we hadn't even begun the circulation and it was already 1 pm. The COW ran out of large, so I needed to go buy some with C. B was doing a wire. G started complaining about her lunch. So we sent her. As soon as she went, the line expanded of course. I was supposed to cover for E since she went to lunch, so I needed to handle all the merchants and some of the line if it wasn't busy, and I needed to buy large with C. This might not seem like a lot, but when there is a line going out the door and people start to get antsy with waiting in line.. the pressure is on sometimes. I don't have a problem multi-tasking, but I'm probably not as friendly and attentive because I'm trying to be one step ahead of myself. Two of our major clients with large sums of cash came to me and I was on the regular teller line. This means, no money counting machine. So I was running back and forth between the vault and my teller line spot to do their transactions. The next guy just had a simple deposit. I did it for him. He commented that the merchant was closed. I told him she was at lunch and I was covering for him and that things were a bit hectic. Sorry about the wait. Need anything else? Thanks for coming in. The end of story right? Wrong. The a-hole calls D and says that he expected more from B of A as it was his first time in there. Since they were some multi-million dollar company, D made me sit down and have a talk with him about customer service. "I understand that things were crazy at the moment but....." BLAH you need to smile BLAH and be more attentive BLAHto each individual customer BLAH. Oh really? What a relief that you understand but DO NOT act like it. Then he started rambling about other BS like.. "how many smiles do you see on the teller line right now?" "what should we do about that?" OMG! You know. IF he would even LET ME speak honestly, I would have told him that if he wants the employees to be genuinely happy, then it has to start from ABOVE with the managers. Of course he wouldn't have any of what I was saying about that customer who somewhat complained about me, so I didn't even see the point in answering his questions honestly.

Sometimes I feel like working for the bank of a load of crap. I was thinking about it today... I know that a lot of businesses are run in a similar fashion... "the customer is always right", "smile", "sell _____" (fill in the blank with what you wise), "undivided attention", etcetera etcetera. But don't they see at the same time that most employees are UNHAPPY with their job? Most of these employees ARE customers elsewhere also at other kinds of businesses as well. So why do we play this stupid game of being fake and try to take every penny possible from the customer? You know... you walk into a McDonalds. All their commericals and ads are about being happy and loving the customer. When you walk into a real McDonalds, do you think those employees are genuinely happy? Do they really love to take frozen shit out of the freezer and put it under a heat lamp for all of America to eat? I think about all the CRAP paying jobs out there in America, and think about how people must hate their jobs with such a passion at times. People like me dammit. Today I was looking at the Annual Report 2005 from B of A that they printed out for all their employees. I looked at the picture of the president, the global risk executive, the president of investment, etcetera etcetera. I looked at these people and said.. I bet they get paid more than $10/hr! I bet they get paid more than $13/hr! For all the fucking shit we have to go through everyday... What the hell do they do? Put on a nice suit, take pictures of this horrible money sucking corporation they've built, push the people working under them to sell more crap to people who don't need it, have other people file their paperwork for them for fucking $10/hr, and pay hispanics $6.25/hr to pick up after their trash.

I'm tired of big corporations. They're all loaded up with bullshit because of their greed. All the employees that bust their ass for the company get paid shit. All the people that make the employees bust their ass just sit there and watch them bring in the money. And they get it all! For what? So they can drive around in a Mercedes Benz and boast about how great their company is doing? Then they can somehow make themselves feel better by donating a small chunk of what they make to charities and ignore all the other misgivings in the world...

There's a story in the bible (not that I'm so big on God these days, but makes my point anyway) about a rich man who pulls in millions of dollars a year and donates $10,000.00 to the church. Then there's a homeless man who goes to the same church and donates $1.86, every last penny that he had. So who really gave more...

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007