The Time Traveler's Wife
Friday, Apr. 07, 2006 at 10:46 a.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hello! I'm totally in love. Here is the cover of a novel I can't stop reading.

When I read a book that I like with intensity, I usually read it the first time in a skimming manner because I'm so eager to see what is going to happen next. It makes me anxious reading every single word and not being able to know what happens when I put the book down. So I usually read through it as fast as I can. Once I've satisfied my curiosity, I start reading the book from the beginning again, but this time I read every word. I'm doing that right now with The Time Traveler's Wife. And it's just so... extraordinary. In every way. I think the author did a fantastic job with the story idea.. sometimes.. there are a lot of good story ideas that get don't get presented in the best way... so it doesn't turn out to be a good read. Same for movies.

One example in a movie type situation where there was an interesting story idea, but was not presented in an intriguing or interesting way was the movie Hostel. The idea of girls luring young boys into a hostel and having them become prey for people who have a need to satisfy a murdering taste, is actually an interesting idea to me. I'd never pay money to murder someone myself, but the story line has a punch to it that I think would be a great for a scary/suspense type movie. But the movie itself was presented in the worst manner. All it was, was gore, gore and more gore.

Anyways, back to the book! I find that movies and books about time travel and fate have been completely disasterous for the most part. Books tend to do a better job with it than movies. Maybe because in a book you can be more elaborate and gradually get the reader to believe what it is that you are writing. For me on a personal level, I usually don't like books and movies about fate because I don't believe in fate. I believe in making your own choices. And I certainly don't believe in time travel for that matter! With The Time Traveler's Wife, I knew right away that it would be a fictional book. So it was easy for me to accept that Henry could time travel. But the book is far from a science fiction type book. It's simply a love story. The author was able to incorporate it into a world that seemingly is realistic. I mean, everything else is. Minus the time traveling part. I think that's also why I felt that the ideas and concepts behind the book were SO real. The ideas of love and fate. It was like a big circle, that couldn't be broken. And she did the whole fate idea in a way that didn't SEEM like fate. It's hard to explain if you haven't read it...

After reading the book the first time, I still didn't believe in fate. I'm sure that after I read the book more throughly, I still won't believe in fate. But because the author was able to do such a fantastic job with the story line, I did believe in for the sake of the story. And I did understand the logic of her character's thoughts.

This is definitely one of my Top Ten Favorite Books! I remember when I first opened it.. how critical I was. The first pages seemed sappy. And I don't do sappy. What can I say? Except that it became real. I've nothing but praise for the book. All right Tobes. Lab awaits me! And fishing later too. See you.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007