The Start of a Diet
Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2006 at 9:23 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Sheesh.. whoever told you that going to the gym gives you energy was a liar... I am soooo sleepy. Well... the good news is, it usually doesn't make me tired. And! I've been going to the gym much more consistently for the past month. About 3 times a week. I know it doesn't sound like a lot, but that's a heck of a lot better than once every 2 months! Today I decided I wasn't going to be a scary cat and that I could work out my muscles with the boys. Well... I only do a few leg exercises then leave.. I don't want to have buldging arms or anything like that. I just want to built my lean muscle mass in my legs before I run for 30 minutes, so I don't loose it all! Take the fat I say! Anyways... so says KB, and Core Performance (a book he recommended to me). I'm also supposed to eat 6 small meals a day. I tried it today and it wasn't so bad. I had a bowl of cereal in the morning. Half a sandwich and half a salad before work. The rest of the sandwich and rest of the salad during my lunch at work. After work and before working out, I ate half a grilled chicken sandwich and half a baked potato. After working out, I ate the rest of it. And lots of water!!! So.. well, I ate 5 small meals today... but really it was basically like 3 regular meals.. just split up into time periods. The book says this will increase my metabolism over time.... o_O Which I have seem to have lost for the last few years. I want it back! And you know.. doing the small stuff.. like light mayo, wheat bread, more veggies... vs. french fries and potato chips.. no soda... more water.. Looking at nutrition labels and reducing trans fat intake... It's not totally hard core or anything... So I think it will be all right. But who knows... it's only the first day. I'm supposed to work out like every freaking day, but I know that ain't gonna happen, so I'm pushing for every other day. Maybe on the days I don't work out, I can take Cory out for extra long walks instead. But today.... I'm exhausted! I think it's because I had class at 8 in the morning. Went to work right after until 7, and worked out after work. I just want to sleeeeep. Not work on this stupid paper for geography of California.

I am sooooo tired. I'm thinking about just going to sleep NOW!

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007