Smile
Sunday, May. 07, 2006 at 11:12 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hi sweetheart. I don't feel good at all. I'm tired. I'm sick. I miss someone I never see and I've got midterms and papers galore coming up.

I realize that life isn't perfect... and you've just simply got to pick yourself back up and learn from all your small and larger (sometimes, much larger) mistakes. It's just hard to actually DO that sometimes. I guess if there is one very important lesson I've learned through all this is, to truly cherish the friends that you have. Even though I lost one friend that I truly loved and cared about to learn this. At the least, I learned something from it. And well, it wasn't the only thing I learned. In strange ways, I learned to value myself a little better too because I learned that I shouldn't let people (no matter who they are), belittle me whether they mean to or not. I learned a bit on manners, on being more social, on interacting with parents and family, and just a little bit of everything in one way or another. And well, I learned my lesson the hard way... but I guess some of life's most important lessons have to be sunk in that way.. even with all your protest and regret. I just have to accept it. I also have to accept the fact that I am not a robot and that I'm going to have some bad nights once in a while where I do miss this someone that I lost very terribly. Even though you learn things and realize what has happened, you'll still miss things... It could be partly regret, sorrow, or even happy memories that make you cry, or be angry, upset, or even happy... You just have to say.. Hey- I accept what's happened. What's done is done, and the way I feel is just what it is, and that's OKAY too. So.. on another ending... I'll leave you with that, a picture from last night, and a song I heard tonight that I loved.

<3 Karen

Me and Liz last night... before going to The Loft

Smile
Original words by John Turner and Geoffrey Parsons. Original music by Charlie Chaplin (1936)

Competing versions by: Nat King Cole (1954), Sunny Gale, David Whitfield, Tony Bennett (1959), Timi Yuro (1961), Ferrant and Teicher (1962), Betty Everett and Jerry Butler (1965). Particular version I heard tonight was a performance done by Chick Corea and Bobby McFerrin.

Smile though your heart is aching
Smile even though it�s breaking
When there are clouds in the sky, you�ll get by
If you smile through your fear and sorrow
Smile and maybe tomorrow
You�ll see the sun come shining through for you

Light up your face with gladness
Hide every trace of sadness
Although a tear may be ever so near
That�s the time you must keep on trying
Smile, what�s the use of crying?
You�ll find that life is still worthwhile
If you just smile

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007