Camping
Sunday, Jul. 09, 2006 at 5:13 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hi love! Just got home from camping a few hours ago. We went to a campsite called Barton Flats near Jenk's Lake. I'm not sure if Jenk's Lake is a part of Big Bear Mountain, but it's quite close. Rene and I drove up together on Friday afternoon to reserve a spot at the campsite. We ended up arriving around 1:30ish. Paid for a spot. We were planning on setting up our tent before the boys got there, but we ended up realizing that we didn't bring the entire tent there! Only pieces of it. So we couldn't really complete our task. We blew up Rene's air mattress and layed under the sun, reading and napping. Then we see dark clouds starting to form above us and heard thunder. We didn't want to get soaked, so we packed up our items and went into Big Bear since we had already paid and reserved our spot. Once we were there, we decided to watch The Devil Wears Prada, which was quite entertaining. Afterwards we walked around for a bit, looking at all the shops and had dinner at a restaurant there. The boys had called us and told us that they weren't going to be here until after 10:00! So we went to Chad's Place to play pool for a few hours. When we got back to our campsite, Mike, Jason and Ryan got there about 20 minutes later. We finally set up our tent and a campfire and just drank beers and relaxed. =)

The next day... we woke up, made hasbrowns, scrambled eggs and sausages. Then we went to Jenk's Lake to go fishing and for a possible hike. We had only been fishing 15 minutes and had already caught 3 fish when it started raining. Very slowly at first, then extremely hard. It even hailed for a few minutes! I had a beach umbrella in my car, so we brought that out and hundled under it for a while. It was madness! We had lunch in our car until the craziness subsided... Jason really wanted to hike, so Rene, Jason and I went down to a trail we saw before the lake to hike, while Mike and Ryan stayed behind to fish some more. It was such a nice hike! Even though it was very steep and uphill for a little bit. We found a beautiful stream towards the end of our hike and sat down there for a bit to take pictures. We got everything together and went to meet Mike and Ryan again. Then we headed back to our campsite to make dinner... sloppy joes! I went lizard hunting for a bit and caught 2 sagebrush lizards and 2 western fence lizards. I had seen those lizards in the morning, but I couldn't catch them with my hands because they were just too quick for me. So I made a noose to capture them. I got lucky because there was a log by our campsite that housed a lot of the lizards, so I could see them sun bathing on the corners of holes and such, so they were very easy to noose. I released them back to their same spot after capture. We made another camp fire, and talked nonsense.


We woke up this morning to make another breakfast which consisted of hasbrowns, eggs and sausages again. We tried to make it back home in time to watch the final World Cup game between Italy and France. We also grilled cheeseburgers and hot dogs for lunch. Darren joined us! Italy won on penalty kicks.

I just woke up from a nap with KB. He's actually still sleeping, but I thought I'd update you and such. I have a midterm tomorrow! Yeck! Must study. See you!

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007