Darcy
Thursday, Aug. 10, 2006 at 1:37 a.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hi love. It's soooo late and I really should be in bed since I have an 8 am class tomorrow with homework I haven't even started or even bothered to look at... but I really needed a chat.

I'm reading a book right now called Something Blue. The first book to this is called Something Borrowed. It's about... so many things. But basically, the story line is this: Dex and Darcy are a seven year relationship that is on it's way to marriage. They are engaged. Rachel is Darcy's best friend. Darcy is basically a materialistic, self-absorbed, airheaded bitch. While Rachel is down to earth, understanding, sweet, and just plain nice. In the end, Rachel and Dex get together, and Darcy gets together with another guy named Marcus. The story is told from Rachel's point of view, and when you read the book.. you really feel for her. You pine for her. You love her.

The second book, Something Blue is the aftermath of that story, told from Darcy's point of view. She makes me SO mad in the book. I haven't finished it yet, but all she really cares about is herself, her looks, her beauty, and what other people think about her. She thrives on attention and is completely wrapped up on expensive brand name items. She's exactly like the blonde from Sex and the City. I think her character name is Samantha.. except WORSE. Imagine about 100x worse. It's that bad. What irked me so while I was reading this book is that... I saw traits of her, that I saw in myself. And it really freaked the shit out of me. I don't view myself as that kind of person at all, but the fact that I shared common feelings with this... beneigned little witch, was just too much for me to bear. I mean.. I think if every girl read both books, they might feel like they have parts of Darcy and parts of Rachel in them as well.. Which I do, on both characters. But it kind of scared me how much Darcy thought... and how I thought that I might think the exact same thing.

It made me realize that I'm not the good person that I thought I was. I mean, I knew I was not perfect, who is? But... I will definitely say that things with me have certainly changed from who I used to be... I get this feeling that I've morphed from 80% Rachel to 70% Darcy. And it's really scary to realize that. I'd always make excuses for myself on why I feel the way that I do, but that's all they really are.. excuses.

Really. I remember when I used to be nice... especially even to strangers. But I've lost the patience and longing... the only part of me that remains in that aspect is saved for animals. I guess I feel that animals are an exception because they don't THINK like people do. They deserve the exception.

I'll tell you more about it later.. I'm just so bummed that it took a bad character book to realize these things.. I mean, to really realize it. Thats all. 99.

The opposite of love isn't hate, it's indifference.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007