Western University
Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2006 at 5:24 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hello! I went to an information session for the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine @ Western University today. I'm really glad that I went. I learned a lot of things about the application and school that will be very helpful for the future. Earlier today before I went to the session I was feeling very stressed out about my future. Mainly because I feel totally unprepared for applying for vet school. I lack the experience and I kind of messed up my GPA a little bit in the early years of my schooling when I didn't care. Now I care big time and even managed to pull off straight A's during the summer. It's the first time I've ever gotten straight A's and I was really happy. But having straight A's is not what gets people into vet school. Now that I've gone to the session and know what they are looking for... I know what I have to do. I also realized that there is no way that I can apply this year to go to Western U for next year because I need to have a letter of recommendation from a veterinarian! Which I know none. I also have yet to take the GRE's. But I do have a plan of action...

First: Finish getting my Zoology B.S. from Cal Poly.

Second: In the meantime, apply to a whole bunch of vet clinics. I did my resume and letter and I just need to make copies and send them out.

Third: Also do more diverse internships for AHS internships offered at Cal Poly. EQUINE!

Fourth: Continue volunteering at the Inland Valley Animal Shelter.

Fifth: Go to Saddleback College once I'm done with Cal Poly and make up those classes that I didn't do well in during the earlier years.

Sixth: Apply by October 1, 2007 for as many vet schools as possible...

If anything.. going to the information session made me realize even more that this is what I want to do. I realize that I can't apply this year due to the lack of preparation on my part.. but I will definitely be more qualified by next October. By next October I'll be 25.. and I'll be done with vet school when I'm 29... wow! That's old isn't it?? If I really think about it... if I really had been on track about everything about school.... At the earliest, I could have been done with vet school by 26. It is a 3 year difference... but is it worth doing something like that for what you would love to do? I guess at that point, you have to make a decision about that. And I'm sure every person would have a different potential decision for their dreams... and this is simply mine.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007