Complicated Thoughts and Breakestra!
Wednesday, Sept. 20, 2006 at 9:38 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

If life wasn't so complicated... I guess I wouldn't be writing so damn much. [sigh]. I don't know... Maybe it's me? I have been dumped in every relationship I've been in. It's frustrating to think that. I don't think I'm perfect, but am I really not compatible with so many guys? Well.. I guess 3 (maybe 4) is not actually that many to try... but it's hard to try. Each time is just another rejection of who you are. It's like.. "Oh, sorry. It was a good run but I guess I just don't like you."

And I just don't know why I hope so much and wish so much and want to try so much... I guess it's because of two main factors. One is: I've always been dumped. Being dumped is not fun. Being dumped means that the other person saw a huge fault in you first and so decided to say goodbye. Somehow.. when you are the one that's dumped, you want to be with that person even more than you might really want to be. The second is: because of love. Because of love and because of what I believe about love. What I wish for in love. I view love as everlasting, forever, constant, strong and enduring. When I love.. I want to love forever. That would be ideal for me. But I guess.. that would not be realistic. I understand that... especially with a first love because of factors like.. wanting to be single and wanting to date for fun. I think most people want/need to experience that. But this isn't my first love. I've loved genuinely twice already.. and I guess I'm tired of being hurt and losing at this stupid game.

Even though, Mike and I are trying to work things out now� it�s very confusing. There is so much confusion that I don�t even know how to start writing about it. It�d be like 20 pages long. Our trust issue, how I resolved it.. My issues with the small things. My constant ponderings on love� how certain things have changed since the break up and whether we are right for each other or not� it�s completely overwhelming. The really excellent thing is that I start school tomorrow. Yay. =/ More stress to my life. I�m debating if I should take 20 units or not� baah. Don�t know what to do? I�ll probably drop a class.. don�t know if I can handle 5 classes on the quarter system.. 3 of them with labs. Yuck.

I didn�t tell you yet, but I�m really glad that I went to the Breakestra show with Rene and Jeff last Saturday. They were so freaking awesome beyond belief. I�ve never heard them more amazing than I did that night. They played for two and a half hours! Came back on for an encore and everything. The crowd was going wild for them. It was awesome! I think my legs died that night. It was incredible. Rene and Jeff were troopers for sticking it through all the way till the end! We danced so long!! I loved it. Can�t wait to see them again when they come around.

Here�s some bio on Breakestra before I tuck in..

"Sock it to 'em Dr. Tackett!" Mixmaster Wolf exclaims in the opening track of Breakestra's Live Mixtape Part One. Dr. Tackett is the musical golden child Miles Tackett and he plays some sick bass. Mixmaster Wolf sings and fronts the eight piece funk band Breakestra. The Los Angeles based ensemble is based in deep funk, soul, jazz fever and musical friendships. A Breakestra show is about dancing and swinging � eight men on stage getting loose, playing serious grooves. Think James Brown. Watching the Breakestra live is a tour de force. As Miles says, "What are the first three letters of FUNK?" The Breakestra began as the house band for the legendary club called the Breaks. Egon from Stonesthrow Records further explains the etymology of their name: "Break. As in "breakbeat." That ten second slice of percussive magic in the middle of a funk song that, when looped together by progressive South Bronx DJs in the 1970s, became the basis of the hip-hop movement. Arkestra. Out-there jazzer Sun Ra's funkafied concept of the stuffy classical orchestra." When we combine the two concepts, you have the Breakestra or in other words an orchestra that plays breaks. Back in 1999, Stonesthrow first introduced the world to the Breakestra with a few 12" releases and soon after the full-length album Live Mixtape Part Two. The Breakestra should become a class or a 4-year graduate program for funk musicians. Playing with the Breakestra is a great way to get a degree in funk," says former longtime keyboardist Carlos Guaico. Indeed it is a way to get your degree in funk because the Breakestra have played an A to Z of funk classics. James Brown, Jimmy Smith, all the way to the endless breaks sampled by Gangstarr and A Tribe Called Quest. The Breakestra have played so many covers of the aforementioned grooves that the only way a musician could be in the group is if they really knew how to play. If we were to construct a family tree of LA bands, Breakestra would be mentioned in the same breath as Weapon of Choice, Fishbone, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Jane's Addiction, Mesh of Mind and Ozomatli. These bands began in backyard jam sessions and random open mics held throughout the city from Echo Park to Venice, Highland Park to Topanga Canyon. Those early days were just after the '92 Riots. Musicians from all over the city became tighter and many experimental jam sessions occurred fusing genres like funk, hip-hop, rock and acoustic soul resulting in truly innovative, multiculturaL music. Musical friendships between cats like Miles, Mixmaster Wolf, Cut Chemist, Peaunut Butter Wolf, Carlos Guaico and many others became the seeds for landmark clubs and two indie record labels that still flourish to this day. Original members of the Breakestra have gone on to either play or write songs for/with the Black Eyed Peas, Macy Gray, The Rebirth, Dakah, the list goes on. Miles' inspiration to form the Breakestra began when he fell in love with hip-hop after hearing groups like the Jungle Brothers and historic records like the Ultramagnetic MC's' Critical Beatdown in the late 1980s - the era in which tons of dusty drum breaks and funky samples first saw the light of day. These samples hit closer to home for Miles because his father Freddie Tackett is in the seminal band Little Feat and wrote the song "Fool Yourself." This epic song was later drum sampled by A Tribe called Quest for their "Bonita Applebaum" (though Miles claims he sampled it first). Funk is in his blood. For Miles the hip-hop of the late '80's is sacred. He adds, "Like all longtime Angelino hip-hop lovers, I heard these records on KDAY." As a lifelong musician, Miles was never the same.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007