Twix
Tuesday, Oct. 10, 2006 at 9:43 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Today was my second day at All Creatures Animal Hospital. It was a very emotional day... We put down a dog near the end of the day. Her name was Twix and she was a 9 year old lab mix. They had found out last week that she had cancer... she went on a chemotherapy treatment on Thursday, but she had collapsed today and the owners found her on the floor. She couldn't get up and walk. She was weak the last time the vet saw her, but she could still stand. Today when she came in, she looked very skinny and fragile, breathing heavily and feeling horrible probably. The owners had to make a very hard decision whether or not to take her to the emergency vet clinic where they could do a transfusion for her, or they could put her down... Because her prognosis was not good and she was so weak... they finally decided that it was for the best. It was really crappy because they were two young girls... and they were crying a lot. I was helping to hold down the dog while we were giving it oxygen... and they were crying and crying the whole entire time, before they decided, while they decided and after they decided. I was so sad for them. Because you could see the pain and hurt on their face and how much they didn't want to let her go. It took a LONG time for the girl to decide. I don't blame her. I would have done the same with my dog. After it was over, they kept hugging the dead dog and giving her kisses.... I felt horrible. I wanted to hug them and tell them that they made the right choice. But I didn't want to offend because I'm a stranger to them, even though they seemed very un-stranger-like at the moment.... I couldn't look at them and not want to cry. It was really sad and hurtful to watch them hurt so much. I'm sorry for their loss...

R.I.P. Twix.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007