A Fond Farewell
Friday, Oct. 13, 2006 at 8:26 a.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hi love. I can honestly say that it has been a LONG week. I've done a lot of thinking, and much of it has gone back and forth in my head like a match of ping pong. But I know where I stand now. There are so many things that I figured about and learned from... that I'm content. Even though, the outcome of Mike and I might not be what I had hoped for, I know that in the end, I'll be all right. It was really difficult for me to see and realize this. Why? Because I didn't want to believe it. I couldn't even ponder the possibility that we might not work. I didn't let it be an option.

I know that everyone is scared of a little truth. I know I was scared and I know Mike was scared. But I'm not scared anymore. I'm not going to hide from it. I want to know what's real and what I can do with whatever path that I get.

I'll let you know which path I'm going down on when I know...

<3 Karen

My mother once told me
The thicker your skin
The better off you'll be
When this world brings you down
Well it's trying to control me
And leave me without hope
In the past I've been burned
But I've lived and I've learned

Beneath the shelter of the pouring rain
In the absence of this fear and pain
I will finally bid my ball and chain
A fond farewell

On the road that leads me to my place
I will rid my heart of past disgrace
I will finally bid this sluggish pace
A fond farewell

When I heard their reservations
When I read their bitter words
I shined a light upon their wisdom
No matter how absurd
And it broke my heart to pieces
And I questioned my own beliefs
My dignity was gone
But it's time to move on

Beneath the shelter of the pouring rain
In the absence of this fear and pain
I will finally bid my ball and chain
A fond farewell

On the road that leads me to my place
I will rid my heart of past disgrace
I will finally bid this sluggish pace
A fond farewell

Say goodbye to feeling sorry for myself
To begging others for far too much help
This is my hand
These are the cards that I've been dealt
Only I can make these changes
Nobody else
Say goodbye to those sleepless nights
Those corridors with no end in sight
A driven man with these words I write
I'm making peace with my soul tonight

Beneath the shelter of the pouring rain
In the absence of this fear and pain
I will finally bid my ball and chain
A fond farewell

On the road that leads me to my place
I will rid my heart of past disgrace
I will finally bid this sluggish pace
A fond farewell.
Ari Hest / A Fond Farewell

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007