Cottleston Pie
Wednesday, Oct. 25, 2006 at 2:04 p.m.
Dear Tobey,

Hello darling. I'm at school right now.. doing some research for our presentation next week on Taoism for my EWS431 class. Chris and I are going to present on the Texts of Taoism while Amanda and Steven do background and history. Another group is going to present on their practices and beliefs. I'm glad I'm going to present the texts section, because I can introduce a book I'm re-reading. The Tao of Pooh. Yes, this is actual reference to "The Bear of Little Brain". That familiar chubby and tan colored bear with the teeny red shirt on. Taoism has philosophical and religious sect. There is even a sexual sect of Taoism! But anyway... the focus of the book is more on the philosophical part of Taoism. It is by Benjamin Hoff. My favorite part of the book is called Cottleston Pie, which is the title of a song which Pooh sings. And it goes a little something like this:

Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston Pie,
A fly can't bird, but a bird can fly.
Ask me a riddle and I reply:
Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston Pie.

Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston Pie,
A fish can't whistle and neither can I.
Ask me a riddle and I reply:
Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston Pie.

Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston Pie,
Why does a chicken, I don't know why.
Ask me a riddle and I reply:
Cottleston, Cottleston, Cottleston Pie.

The first verse. Benjamin Hoff explains, "A fly can't bird but a bird can fly. Very simple. It's obvious, isn't it? And yet, you'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are... In other words, everything has its own place and function. That applies to people, although many don't seem to realize it, stuck as they are in the wrong job, the wrong marriage, or the wrong house. When you know and respect your own Inner Nature, you know where you belong. You also know where you don't belong. One man's food is often another man's poison, and what is glamorous and exciting to some can be a dangerous trap to others.

The second part. A fish can't whistle and neither can I. Coming from a wise mind, such a statement would mean, "I have certain limitations, and I know what they are." Such a mind would act accordingly. There's nothing wrong with not being able to whistle, especially if you're a fish. But there can be lots of things wrong with blindly trying to do what you aren't designed for. Fish don't live in trees, and birds don't spend too much time underwater if they can help it. Unfortunately, some people--who always seem to think they're smarter than fish and birds, somehow--aren't so wise, and end up causing big trouble for themselves and others. That doesn't mean that we need to stop changing and improving. It just means that we need to recognize What's There.

Now, the last part of the principle: "Why does a chicken, I don't know why." Why does a chicken do what it does? You don't know? Neither do we. Neither does anyone else. Science likes to strut around and Act Smart by putting its labels on everything, but if you look at them closely, you'll see that they don't really say much. "Genes"? "DNA"? Just scratching the surface. "Instinct"? You know what that means:

CURIOUS: "Why do birds fly South for the winter?"
SCIENCE: "Instinct."

It means, "We don't know."

The important thing is, we don't really need to know. We don't need to imitate Nearsighted Science, which peers at the world through an electron microscope, looking for answers it will never find and coming up with more questions instead. We don't need to play Abstract Philosopher, asking unnecessary questions and coming up with meaningless answers. What we need to do is recognize Inner Nature and work with Things As They Are."

I laughed when I read the third part about science.. While sitting in my cellular and molecular biology class a few quarters ago, I remember questioning the teacher and the class out of anger of having to know so much information for a test. And I thought, "WHY? Why do we HAVE to learn this information. Why can we just accept the fact that it works and let it be." I mean, what was the point? I suppose that science would reply back with with new medicines and breakthrough surgeries that improve the quality and/or quantity of lives everywhere. Or does it? I question if it truly does. I just wonder if living a few years longer can really create more quality of your life. Being happy, content... satisfied. If you truly wanted to be those things, why not just be it? Why not enjoy the little things in life... the beauty of nature, people and all that this world has to offer. The offer has been there all along. It's only when you choose to accept it that you see things you never saw before, yet were always there.

I'm not saying that I don't believe in the miracles of science and medicine. God knows I will still be shoving 2 pills of asprin down everytime I get cramps. I'm just think it would be nice for people to slow down and enjoy things at the same time. I think being less stressed is something people overlook as well. Removing the stresses you accumulate can have an effect on your health. Even "science" knows that, as I'm sure we would have known even if it wasn't proven. Maybe science and medicine could work better together if it wasn't swimming against the tide of nature, but with it instead. Just a thought that The Bear of Little Brain encouraged me to think about.

I'm going to Torrance to see Jae and Doris! Studying there for a bit too. Talk to you later TB.

<3 Karen

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007