Last Chance Saloon
Tuesday, Nov. 07, 2006 at 9:00 a.m.
Dear TB,

Hi darling! I'm pretty sleepy today as I went to sleep at 2 in the am last night staying up reading Last Chance Saloon and talking to Darren. Weekend plans have been altered and I'm not going to Jed's party in SD because Lizzie can only go out on Friday night. Which is fine, I'll drive out to SD another night to wish him happy birthday! So me, Liz and probably Rene will be @ Barcopa Friday night. =)

I think I am going to pick up the ratons tonight with Er Bear. Yayy!! I'm super excited. I doubt I'll have them over a year from now.. but that's okay. They are free and all and come with an enclosure already. The reason I say that I won't have them for more than a year is because rats tend to live around 2 to 3 years. And they are already about a year old... so maybe 2 more years at most. We'll see! I'm excited to have rattys again. They make really wonderful pets. I'm going to clear the space on top of my desk and put them there. Darren says I have too many animals!! Blasphemy. =) I saw pictures of them and they look just like my Emily. They are two girls... and of course are adorable as buttons.

I'm reading a book called Last Chance Saloon, and it's about 2 women and a gay man in their 30s. It's a funny read as it was published in Great Britian, so you can see the accents and way of talk in the book. It's quite cute. As I'm reading the book right now... I feel as though I have gone through what they are all experiencing. I guess characters in books and movies do such things eh? Tara's situation reminded me of Mike. How I was so afraid to walk away from our relationship and be on my own. Katherine's situation reminded me of how I was after the Andy aftermath and how I hated all boys with a passion. And Fintans? Well, it reminds me of all the feelings I had when I was in love. I guess lots of girls have gone through these phases, but it's funny how it hits the heart when you see things as time has gone on. I see Tara.. as this pathetic and deathly afraid kind of woman.. who revolves everything around her one "love" that she is trying to salvage. And I saw me. It's exactly what I was trying to do with Mike. And also exactly how I felt. I see Katherine, who is not really bitter anymore... but angry. And determined not to let love intrude on her life of independence. And that's how I was after Andy. The "I hate boys, don't even bother to look at me" kind of rage. Seriously, I remember being pissed off if I had to run to the grocery store and the cashier was of the male species. It was like, ugh! Another one of them.

Of course these are in fact, phases that have passed for me. But it's weird to remember these things and remember how I felt, and because of that, I understand these fictional characters and how they are in the book Last Chance Saloon. Therefore? I'm in for an utterly good read. =) I mean, I don't hate boys anymore of course, and I've forgiven Mike and myself for the past. But still, I understand what it was like. And I understand that there's always hope in yourself.

Okay TB! I'm going to do a bit of reading before class... I think I'm having dinner with Rene and Darren tomorrow... Thursday going to watch Babel with Suey Boo Boo + company. Friday going to Barcopa... Saturday is the zoo trip!! All right love. See you later.. =)

<3 Karen

"For yesterday is but a dream,
and tomorrow is only a vision:
But today well lived
Makes every yesterday a dream of happiness,
And every tomorrow a vision of hope.

Look well, therefore, to this day."

Sanskrit proverb

Yesterday | Tomorrow


Moving - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
Rambles and Kansas! - Thursday, Feb. 07, 2008
In Manhattan, Kansas! - Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008
Minnesota! - Saturday, Jan. 12, 2008
First Interview!!! - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007